Dear Mum…

by limebirdwriters

I was sitting wondering last night where my love for writing came from, and it’s safe to say that it came from you. You would always encourage me to be the best I could be and to read and write and be creative, so I think that’s definitely  where the love for writing came from.

I once saw somewhere that your mum is the first best friend that you ever have. You know what? I like to think you are still one of my best friends. I am now an adult (well sort of), but I will still ring you if I have any difficulties or if I’m sad, or just want to chat. Even though you have crazy afro hair and sometimes looks at me like I’m nuts, you’re the best.

You are such an inspiration to me as you left school at a young age and worked damn hard to get to where you are today. You never went to University and the look of glee on your face watching me graduate (with a decent grade) is something I will always remember.

If I hurt myself when I was little, even though I knew that you would say “Is your leg actually hanging off?”, as soon as you came to get me, I would burst into floods of tears because I knew that you would make it all better.

I know I wasn’t exactly planned (or a happy surprise as you like to say), but I hope I’ve made you proud enough 🙂 Thank you for making me who I am today.

One memory I have that really stands out for me is when I got a new bike. We were walking down to the high street and I stopped and got off my bike. You took hold of it and I thought you were just holding onto it for me. I couldn’t have been more wrong. This is what happened next:

Young me: Gee, thanks mum for holding my bike for me (I don’t think I really talked like this, but I’m going to just imagine I did)

Mum: No problem

*I turn away for a second*

Young me: Mum? Where are you?

*looks and see my mum wildly peddling off on my tiny bike down the high street*

Young me: DEAR GOD NO! MUUUUUMMMMM!! NOOOOOOOO

I think this story pretty much sums up our relationship. I hope that when I have children one day, I will do this type of this with them.

One of my favourite things to do with you is something I like to call ‘Mumeroo’. I don’t live at home anymore, but when I’m home I do like to take part in it when I can. I would also recommend that anyone reading this should try this with your mums (or dads) when you get home tonight.

I’m sure you remember the rules mum, but I’m going to explain them for people who may be reading this. So, the basic premise of the game is that it’s like the kid’s game Buckeroo (if you haven’t heard of this, you basically have a donkey which you have to balance things on and if you offset it, it bucks up).

So, you wait until your parent falls asleep on the sofa then QUICKLY get everything you can and balance it on them. I’ve managed remote controls, juggling balls, books and many more. The aim is to get as much on as possible before they wake up. Trust me it’s awesome. Also a little tip, if you see them rousing, get the heck outta there! In my experience, the liking of Mumeroo is generally only one way. (isn’t it mum?)

So, do me a favour, if you’re sitting there thinking ‘Yeah, my mum/dad/step dad/step mum etc rocks too’ go now and ring them or talk to them and tell them how much you love them and thank them for being them. If you’re arguing right now, go and make up. If they are no longer here, then you can still tell them how much you love them, I’m sure they’re listening.  Life is too short to waste precious time fighting. You never know what life has in store for you, so never take anything for granted.

Have you got any stories about your mum (or other parent)? I would love to hear them.

 

Me and my mumI love you mum.

4 Comments to “Dear Mum…”

  1. Mumeroo eh? Hmpph!

  2. Mumeroos always know what’s right, don’t they? Lovely story Beth…..

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

