NaNoWriMo – Day 7… I’m Still Alive.. Just…

by limebirdwriters

Ok, so it’s nearly been a week since the start of NaNoWriMo and I’m at a solid 10,000 words. I haven’t done my words for the day, so I need to get on that soon.

I wasn’t able to write over the weekend, so these 10,000 words were completed on Thursday which was pretty quick, so I’m hoping to recreate that enthusiasm over the next three days and do another 10,000 (wishful thinking probably).

However, I’m not entirely sure how everyone else has been writing, but mine hasn’t been particularly in… ermm.. order? I’ve written some of the end, some of the middle and some of beginning. Is it just me that does this or does anyone else take on this method? It’s the only way I seem to be able to write and not get stuck as I skip to scenes that I know I want to write.

It’s my first year this year taking on the challenge and I’m really enjoying it so far. Yes it’s stressful, yes I have a headache and yes my fingers hurt from all the typing, but it’s worth it. I’ve always been one of those people who have constantly said, “I’m going to write a book,” but when it comes down to it, it never gets done. This is where NaNo is so great as I actually have a reason to sit down and write write write.

It is difficult for me especially as my day job is as a Copywriter, so I write thousands of words during the day. I then have to get up the gusto to write even more later on, so come December I’m definitely going to be all written out. Are there any other professional writers taking part? If so, how are you getting on with juggling ALL of the writing, I’d love to hear from you.

Anyway,  I’m enjoying getting to know all of my characters and all of the twists and turns along the way. I’m also hoping that I’m going to win this in the first year as I’m sure I’ve got it in me.

So, please do let me know how you’re getting on too! Also, give us your word counts and keep on writing! If you’re reading this and you’re feeling a bit run down and discouraged, you can do it! Just  sit down and let the words fall out of your fingers onto the page. If you have writer’s block, come away from it, go for a walk, do something different. You never know when inspiration will strike.

Good luck! 🙂

PS – I’m limebirdbeth on NaNo, so please feel free to add me!

nanowrimo_2_w

21 Comments to “NaNoWriMo – Day 7… I’m Still Alive.. Just…”

  1. I am happy for you that are so committed to the NaNOWrimo, I procrastinated and never started, although I found a cool web app that is keeping me busy, writing more than 750 words per day. Good luck to you.

  2. Glad to hear that NaNo’s working out for you! I hit 15k in a brief pre-work writing session this morning (Day 7) and all is going fairly smoothly so far. I’m finding that I’m telling the story very much in order – I’m holding off writing later sections in order to give me specific moments to look forward to.

    I’m really enjoying the writing process so far (although nervous about next week, when my planned plotting will likely have run out) and, succumbing to NaNo enthusiasm, it’s hard at the moment to recall why I don’t spend the rest of the year writing like this…

    • Hello Tim and thank you for your comment.

      Yes, it’s going well so far ( I think!) Wow, congratulations on hitting 15k! It’s impressive you have the enthusiasm to write before work. I don’t think my brain would work then! Oh are you? Hmmm, I just can’t seem to do it that way. I think the problem I might have is that I’ve written the ‘specific moments’ already, so all of the inbetween bits are to come, which will make it a bit harder.

      Ah yes, I’ve got that problem coming soon, where the planning runs out, which is a bit scary! I’m limebirdbeth on NaNo btw, if you wanted to add me! 🙂

  3. Am using http://750words.com, it’s a great tool for motivating me to write, you should check it out.

  4. I’m still at 11,500 – I have tomorrow off, so same thing, hoping to punch out some extra wordage to catch up!
    Skipping scenes? YES! That is something I finally gave myself “permission” to do about a year ago, and it suddenly opened up the floodgates for me. Sometimes we have an outline, or a short synopsis – or even just one awesome idea – for a story, and allowing yourself to write what you’re enthusiastic about helps to keep you excited and moving forward on your novel. It also usually helps you to figure out the bridges between scenes, which you might have had trouble building if you didn’t know where you were going to be going.;-)

    • Well, you’re still going though which is good! Yes that sounds like a very good plan.

      Fabulous, I’m glad someone else does it too! I just can’t write in a linear fashion, it just doesn’t work! Great advice, I’m happy I’m not the only one!

  5. I’m having a rocky start for sure. I’m somewhere in the 7,000s words. I’ve switched my narrative from 1st person, to 3rd, to a journal/diary type of story telling. I think its going better now. I hope so at least! Trying hard now to catch back up.

  6. Also, I saw that people hit 50,000 in one day…. HOW is that even possible?! Shenanigans I say hehe.

    • Did they?! Wow! That’s ridiculous. How is that even physically possible! Although they could literally be putting the word count in and then using a word generator to verify? I hope not, but it’s possible.

  7. I understand your issue with writing all day at work, then sitting down to write “for pleasure.” I am not a copywriter, but I do get tasked with a ton of writing and editing at my gig. (Which I really, really like, if they are reading this.) My problem, when writing at home, is that I bog myself down with continual rewrites, always trying to make that last scene just a little bit better.

    And yes, some people will copy and paste one paragraph over and over until they hit 50,000 words and then apply it to the Nano word count app so they can declare themselves a winner. You can’t stop them, but you can feel sorry for them since they have missed the whole point of the exercise.

    • Well, everything I write is for ‘pleasure’ of course 😛 Haha! I also enjoy writing lots, but sometimes it is rather heavy to try and sit down and write after a long day of writing. Ah, I’m also having this problem. I’m desperately trying to force myself to not get bogged down with rewriting and making it perfect.

      Obviously I will do this before anyone is allowed to read it! 🙂

      Yes, I did think that that might happen, but like you said, that pretty much defeats the whole point of the exercise. You won’t have the actual feeling of winning AND you won’t actually have any novel to work with. What’s the point?

  8. I’m having the exact same problem: stuck at a mere 1200 words daily and writing for up to 3 hours for that small amount. For some reason, I seem to procrastinate even more as the days go by. I think somewhere inside, my unconscious is trying to avoid the implications a ‘successful’ NaNo would have for my life. “Jeez, you can actually write a novel! That means you’ll want to make me work hard like this some other time!” Beinf afraid of success is pretty common these days…

    • Hi Javier,

      Thanks for your comment! Well I wouldn’t say that’s a small amount! 1200 is still a lot of writing 🙂 Yes, procrastination is a terrible problem with me as well, the 50,000 words is quite a tall order.

      Haha! Maybe you’re right. I just want to finish something for once really, I’ve got so many projects which are half finished, it would be nice to do this! Well, don’t get disheartened, you can do it! What’s your name on Nano? I’m limebirdbeth 🙂

  9. I’ve been travelling, so my word count is pretty good at just over 15K. But having just arrived home my body clock is all over the place (or in Hong Kong, to be precise) so I have no idea what I’ll feel like doing tomorrow. Time for bed right now…

    • Hi Gabi,

      Thank you for your comment and welcome to Limebird! 🙂

      Well, 15k is loads especially if you have been travelling! I’m very jealous that you have been to Hong Kong, but hopefully you’ll be ready to go when you wake up!

  10. Keep at it!
    This is only my second year NaNoWriMing. Last year I started with the end of my story and each day backed up a little bit and write until I met the place I stated the day before.
    This year I’m going in order from beginning to end(so far at least). Although, I have skipped a few scenes that weren’t clear in my head.
    Remember, the goal of NaNoWriMo is 50K words. It doesn’t matter what you do to get there.
    Good luck!

    • Hello! Thanks for your comment! 🙂

      Oh, I haven’t heard of starting with the end before, but everyone does seem to have their own different styles and techniques! Well, I envy your ability to be able to write from beginning to end as I seem to be skipping all over the place!

      Thank! Good luck to you too!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

