NaNoWriHe (National Novel Writing Headache) – Day 10

by limebirdwriters

Ok, I am still going. Huzzah! My novel ‘Written In Pencil’ is coming along nicely as I’m at 16,666 words (creepy) at the moment. I didn’t work on it yesterday (when you’re reading this), today (when I’m writing this), even though I had a day off, for some reason I couldn’t get into it.I also now have a problem that I can’t seem to write without listening to one of two albums – ‘Ceremonials’ by Florence and the Machine or ‘Birdy’ by Birdy. You definitely need to check them both out, especially if you haven’t already. I sat down to write, but didn’t have the music and there I sat, fingers hovering over the keys, waiting for inspiration to strike, but it didn’t come.

Does anyone else have staple music that they listen to to write or is it just me?

Anyways, so my novel like I said is coming along OK at the moment. The only problem I’ve got now, is that I’m worried I don’t actually have enough for 50,000 words. The only downside with not writing in order is that I don’t really know where everything is going to go yet. I’ve just got random scenes complete, but they aren’t chronological in the slightest!

I’ve also realised that the whole big ‘twist’ (kind of twist) of my story doesn’t actually make sense! So at some point I’m going to have to make sure that it all does actually fit together otherwise people are going to be very confused. However, I am the world’s worst procrastinator, so I’m avoiding tackling that problem for as long as possible, which I wouldn’t recommend!

I’m very much enjoying the relationships which are forming between my characters and getting to know them better, I just hope it’s actually worth reading in the end!So, I’m hoping to have hit 20,000 by the end of today, wish me luck!

If you want to add me over on NaNo, I’m limebirdbeth, and do let me know your word counts and how you’re getting on! 🙂

13 Comments to “NaNoWriHe (National Novel Writing Headache) – Day 10”

  1. I too didn’t write anything yesterday even though we had a holiday. But now, I’m also trying to catch up. 🙂

    Don’t worry, I think a lot of us feel like there’s a huge hole missing in our stories. I know I do. You can fix all that up by editing time, so right now, just write, write, write!

    Good luck reaching your 20K word goal today!

    Great post! 🙂

    • Hello!

      Ahh, yes catching up is hard, but I’m so desperate to meet my target, that I’m going to try my hardest to get to 20,000. I also won’t be able to write much this weekend, so I want to get lots done.

      Yes, that is a good point. Can I submit all out of order? Haha!

      Thank you! Good luck to you too! Have I got you on Nano? 🙂 (bad memory!)

  2. Muse is definitely my writing music, very fitting name for them! I can’t write in silence, they say shut the door and turn everything off…. erm not for me. I can’t concentrate like that.

    I’m still behind on my novel, but I’m coming up on two days off so hope to catch up then!

    • Ah, good choice! Have seen them live and they’re awesome! Yeah me too, but it definitely has to be the right music. Some types I just can’t concentrate with!

      Ohh lovely, good luck and keep on going!

  3. Beth, I spent almost four years listening to the same few albums over and over! For some reason only I could only write when listening to certain albums. Thankfully now, I’ve sort of got over it a bit, but whenever I do go back to my ‘staple’ writing classics I do find myself overcome with a major inspiration boost!

    One of my all-time favourites is The Yngwie Malmsteen Collection (basically, his early greatest hits). Every time I hear the opening track ‘Black Star’, I get a shiver down my spine and think of writing! In fairness the shiver may be because it’s a simply awesome instrumental guitar track

    • Hi Mike,

      Well I’m glad it’s not just me! I don’t seem to be able to write to any other type of music! I don’t seem to be able to get over it quite yet!

      Ohh lovely, maybe I’ll have to broaden my writing horizons a bit! haha!

  4. My current word count isn’t too good at the moment, but I did pass a major milestone for myself. I’m over 10,000 words. I’ve never written so many words on one coherent goal. That said, I have much catching put to do. If only work would cooperate with my writing schedule. 😛

    I listen to a variety of music when I write. It’s almost determines the feel for what scene I’m try to put down in words. I’m a Florence + The Machine fan too and Ceremonials is phenomenal! I also love listening to Baroque.

    I hope that you and the others that follow your blog become NaNoWriMo 2011 Winners!!

    • Well, I think the whole point of NaNoWriMo is to get yourself started on your writing path and 10,000 words is still so many! I still can’t get over the fact that I’ve written so much too, it’s insane! I know, it would be a whole lot easier if we had all the hours in the day, but I guess that’s part of the challenge!

      Yes, I do love a bit of Florence and I also love Ludovico Einaudi if I’m the mood for classical music 🙂

      Thank you very much, that’s very kind!

  5. Heya, LimeBirdBeth!

    Thanks for the follow on my site. I’m pretty sure you’re the first stranger that ever looked at it. I don’t know if you liked it or even actually read it or if you’re just Thumbing Up every blog that you run into involved with NaNoWriMo, but it got me excited!

    If you were at 20,000 back on the 10th, you’re way ahead of schedule. You only need to be at 25,000 by midnight tonight(the 25th) do be on track for 50K by the end of the month.

    Don’t give up, you or anyone else reading this. If you reach fifty thousand words, even if it’s the worst garbage you ever read, that’s still something that less than .1 percent of humanity ever achieved. That’s a made up statistic, but I bet it’s true. The point is: no-one ever wrote a great novel(or even a lousy one) with zero words.

    Good luck!

    • I meant: “midnight tonight(the 15th)”.

    • Hello there!

      Am I? Well, that’s a shame as you should definitely have more people checking out your blog! 🙂 Yes of course I read it, I really enjoyed your extracts from your NaNo novel and I am partial to a bit of supernatural fiction! I am a sucker for all different types of writing, so I really enjoy seeing how everyone else is getting on with creating their stories.

      Yes I am currently at just over 28,000 so I’m definitely on track for this week. How are you getting on today?

      Great advice and good luck to you too and thanks for the statistic! Haha! I’m very determined to win this year, even if it is my first and I’m thoroughly enjoying the ride.

  6. I’m making my word count each day, except for Saturday night when I fell asleep typing at 700 words. I had to make it up on Sunday. So, if I do only the minimum 1667 tonight, that would put me at 51.3%.
    I need to build up some buffer. We have Thanksgiving next week in the US, so it will be extra hard to find any NaNo-ing time on Thursday and Friday.

    I’m working full time and a “single dad” this week while my wife is out of town(training to be a helicopter flight nurse! With night vision goggles!). So getting 1667 words takes up pretty much all my free time each night once I get the old babies in bed.

    • Ohh dear, you must have been tired to fall asleep while writing, but good luck getting to that all important half way mark!

      Ah yes, bloomin Thanksgiving, how inconvenient for your writing schedule! Haha! (Do you get days off for that or is it during the week… ? Ignorant English person over here!)

      Wow, that sounds exciting! I know the feeling of working full time and then finding time to write. I’m a copywriter by profession, so by the time I get home I’m normally all written out! Keep on going! 🙂

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

