Not To Alarm Anyone, But Something Just Happened…

by limebirdwriters

Hello Limebird Reader,

So awfully sorry to be interrupting you like this, but I have some news…. I’ve only gone and bloomin reached 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo! Huzzah!!! Well I am currently on 50,003 to be precise, and I’m planning on adding some more now, but I had to stop to share this with you lovely people.

50,000

Bow down to me mere mortals for I am… wait, too much? Sorry about that, I am just so very excited. This is my first year of taking part in NaNoWriMo (if you hadn’t guessed from my hundreds of posts on it) and I’m so proud of myself that I was able to reach the target. I’ve seen so many others already hitting 50,000 and it just feels so great to be a part of that group.

It also feels amazing that I’m on day 24 out of 30 as well, so to finish early feels good. (Also, I’ve seen that apparently it’s ‘cheating’ if you don’t write for a day, which I didn’t know, but… *puts on bragging hat*, I didn’t actually write for 7 of those days due to lack of time, so I actualllyyyy completed it in 17 days. Not that I’m bragging or anything… *takes off bragging hat*.) Do I still win?

I haven’t actually read back over my work, so it could be a complete pile of rubbish, but I still did it and I still have thousands of words towards a book. I’ve always been one of those people who said ‘Yeah, I’ll write me a book one day’, or telling myself I had at least one book in me, but I never did anything about it.

If you’re sitting there thinking that you couldn’t do it, then think again! If I can, then you can. Get thinking about what you want to write for next year and just do it. We can achieve anything if we put our minds to it.

Thank you to everyone for your support through NaNoWriMo, especially other Wrimos as you’ve been awesome. I’ve really felt a sense of community and it’s been amazing meeting so many great people.

So, for now, I’m going to go and collapse somewhere, hopefully in some kind of vat of chocolate.

Bx

Nanowrimo Winner

37 Comments to “Not To Alarm Anyone, But Something Just Happened…”

  1. Wanted to congratulate all of you on your Liebster Award. Hard work can pay off.

  2. Congratulations!! Darnit, I’m still 3,000 words behind. Slow down and enjoy the thorns, why don’t you! But seriously, congratulations! πŸ˜€

  3. Very well done! You deserve every inch to feel as excited about your achievement as you do.

  4. Congratulations!! Its such an accomplishment!

  5. I want to celebrate my first win, too πŸ˜€ I was a little thrown when I read I had to nicely finish my story around the 50k mark. So now figuring out a way to turn it into a nice cliffhanger story πŸ˜‰

    • Where did you read that? I thought it was that it can be as long as you like, just a minimum of 50k!

      Mine’s not finished yet either but I’m planning on going back after and rewriting πŸ™‚

  6. Heehee, I thought I could go as long as I liked too!

    You’re welcome to ignore it but I have chosen to take up the extra challenge as presented by Chris Baty in his book No Plot No Problem πŸ˜€

    Chris Baty: “The goal here is to have your 49,999th and 50,000th words be The and End. Not because your book will really be 50,000 words when you’ve had a chance to edit it. In fact, your story will probably gain an extra 10,000 to 50,000 words around its midsection during revisions. No, you should try to write a complete story this month because you’ll find the visionary work of creation becomes much, much more difficult after your #A30/31/50k deadline expires and your Inner Editor moves back home with live with you again”.

    Plenty of folks are going to keep on happily chugging! Me I like the idea of finishing my tale around that 50k mark πŸ˜€

    • Ah phew! Ahhh, see I haven’t read that, maybe I should! I’ve heard about it, but this is my first year at NaNo, so maybe I’ll read it before next year.

      Well good luck finishing around 50k! I think I’ve still got about 1/4 to write (mainly in the middle parts), but I’ve got a beginning and an end and that’s the main thing right? Haha!

  7. Well done. Make sure you type about 200 extra words as apparently NaNoWriMo sometimes counts fewer than some word processing programs. And now – enjoy the chocolate!

    • Thanks Gabi and thanks for the tip. I think I’m going to get to around 52,000 just to be sure. I’m not actually finished my novel yet, there’s still a few things I want to explore, but I’m going to submit to get my win on! Woo hoo!

      I didn’t actually find any chocolate 😦 maybe today!

  8. Congrats!

  9. Congratulations on your win, because it IS a win. It may not be a finished product but it Is a book. You wrote a book (We’ll all be able to say we knew her when…) !

  10. You’re right, Neeks! It is indeed a win! Congratulations again, limebirdbeth! I am still limping to the finish line ;D

  11. Congratulations LImebirdbeth! I was standing at the finishing line watching you gather all your energies for the final lunge. You should be proud! πŸ™‚

  12. Congratulations Beth! That’s great! I’m at 44,000 words right now, and after reading your post, I am NOT going to give up! πŸ™‚

    So, are you completely finished with your novel, or is there more than 50K that needs to be written?

    Once again, CONGRATS!!!

    • Thanks Kalie! πŸ˜€ Yes! You can do it, don’t give up, only 6,000 words to go! Keep on going love!

      Umm.. more than needs to be written, think I’m about 3/4 done, but I’m going to get to about 52,000 and submit I think πŸ™‚

  13. Hi, Beth — Here’s a “like” back at you for winning NaNoWriMo and for visiting my blog. This year was my first NaNo as well and it was just as you described — thrilling to hit the 50,000 mark. Thanks for introducing me to Limebirds; I’ll be back to visit!

  14. Wanted to say thanks for liking my post about clattering across the Nano finishing line too! Can I say writing the words THE END (I copied and pasted several times πŸ˜‰ nearly made me want to weep ;P

  15. Congrats, it’s a great feeling isn’t it?! The first year I squeaked in a finish on the last night and then last year I finished 3 days early πŸ™‚ I didn’t know it was cheating if you didn’t write every day?? I know I probably didn’t write on Thanksgiving Day and made it up later…

    • Hi Angela,

      Thank you for your comment! Yes, it feels amazing! I still can’t believe that i did it… I’m not sure if that’s true, but someone told me that! Apparently you’re supposed to write every day. I’m the same as you though, some days I just didn’t have time, so just made up for it on other days!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

