100 Word Stories – Will You Accept The Challenge?

by limebirdwriters

Ok, so in our Limebird Forums at the moment, we have been working on some 100 word stories. Ottabelle from Conversing With Novels brought the idea of trying this to our attention, and we thought – why not? The original idea for this came from the blog Julia’s Place.

So, here are our stories!

Ottabelle

The reaper closed in on his next victim. A man of seventy walked along the snowy sidewalk. It was going to be a white Christmas, but he wouldn’t see it.

The reaper loved Christmas, even decorated for it. He walked behind the aging man and soon came alongside him
“Lovely, isn’t it?” he asked.

The man glanced at him and a horror came over his face.
The reaper pulled his scythe out, and slashed the man’s soul. Bells tinkled in the air. The man walked into his home with blank eyes.

“Is it me or are bells ringing?” he snickered.

LimebirdKate

1)       “George was on his fifth whiskey when the shouts started. He turned, his unsteady bulk tipping the stool slightly. Not now, George thought as his gut sank. He knew Timmy was the one in trouble, but George was useless. They’d taken his badge, his weapon. He couldn’t serve and protect anymore. He returned to his drink.

A body slammed into the bar next to him. George looked at Timmy’s bludgeoned face. Timmy stared back, one eye swollen, the other dull like the sky over North Hill.

“Dad,” Timmy croaked. “Help?” They dragged Timmy away, and his father finished his drink. “

2)       “I hear cheers, a ringing hum reminding me of the fridge in my Grammy’s basement. I concentrate on staying up, but it’s painful. I’m dizzy and confused. My feet stumble.

I catch myself. I keep going. I focus on the yellow line, my guide for the past 25 miles. The line buckles. I’m about to lose it. My body wants to give up. I can’t feel my hands, numb from cold. I see it. Finish! I run faster, harder. I’m about to reach my goal when I feel my heart explode. The road races up, hitting me in the face.”

3)      “The blanket is still warm. The corner where I embroidered a “P” is damp. I try to fold it but can’t get the edges to line up. I try three more times before I scream and throw it on the rocking chair.

The impact makes the chair sway, clicking with each forward motion. We used to fall asleep to that clicking sound, wrapped up in the blanket, listening to each other breathing. I crumple to the floor, holding my knees to my chest. I stare around the room from this view, realizing this is what my daughter used to see. “

Loupy

“As far as winter nights went, this one seemed normal. The moon shone over the dark neighborhood as cars with frost rivers growing on them idled. My house was brightly lit and smelled of Christmas as I decorated.

Suddenly, I found I couldn’t move.

“Honey, come here?” I called to my husband, but he didn’t hear me.

Panicking I began thrashing, but no movement came. I noticed my husband finally coming over to me. He knelt down, tears flowing.

“Oh, what have I done?” He struggled to say through his sobs. “I should have let you turn the heat on.”

LimebirdBeth

1)       “I veered and our car broke through the barrier and hit the water with a thud. My heart leaped into my chest. He scrambled for the door and managed to release it before the pressure hit. I reached for my seatbelt and it was locked in. He pounded on the window, screaming at me to get out. The car was sinking quickly. I knew that he would die if he tried to get back in to save me. The car was slowly filling with water. So I took in a deep breath, I closed my eyes and locked the doors. ”

2)       “My hands were trembling and my palms were sweaty. My Dad was holding on to me tightly, gripping my arm. He looked over to me, smiled and then kissed me on the head. I knew that walking down the aisle would be the most steps since the accident, but I was determined to do it.

I zoned in on the man of my dreams, blocking out everyone else and focused on making the walk to him, to his arms. When I finally reached him, he held out his hand and I took it. This was it, I had made it.”

UPDATE – MORE STORIES:

Pete

A man dared his friend to count to exactly one hundred without stopping for £10…

His friend laughed and said,

“One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen, fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, eighteen, nineteen, twenty, twenty-one, twenty-two, twenty-three, twenty-four, twenty-five, twenty-six, twenty-seven, twenty-eight, twenty-nine, thirty, thirty-one, thirty-two, thirty-three, thirty-four, thirty-five, thirty-six, thirty-seven, thirty-eight, thirty-nine, forty, forty-one, forty-two, forty-three, forty-four, forty-five, forty-six, forty-seven, forty-eight, forty-nine, fifty…”

Then the man randomly sneezed, most likely due to the pepper blown in his face and lost the dare. Losing his pride too, he went home a defeated man.

Want to have a go? Well, head on over to the 100 word challenge in our forums and show us what you’re made of!

23 Responses to “100 Word Stories – Will You Accept The Challenge?”

  1. I think everyone should give it a go!

  2. These are some great stories, and it’s even better that in only 100 words, you were able to produce a beginning, middle and end.

    Great job Lime Bird Writers! 🙂

  3. I love creating pictures that are tight and concise. Great job!

  4. Awesome site! I linked to you 🙂 I’ve enjoyed reading your posts – and thanks for swinging by my place!

  5. I love these! I have written a story exactly 100 words long, unfortunately, your crazy forums won’t load due to “too many connections” 😦 😦 😦

  6. I find it simply amazing what can be accomplished in just 100 words. When I was a professor, students would groan at the thought of writing a 500-word essay. I would, too, but for different reasons. They thought it was too long; I thought it was too short!

    Well done, pithy writers!

  7. In the name of full disclosure, ;3 the idea wasn’t mine! It comes from here!
    http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week22/
    http://jfb57.wordpress.com/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups/

    I need to write some more of those though. And the last(?) part of Jamie’s story, haha. And on AfP… and TCE… and zombie story… and hybrids… @.@ crap.

  8. I would, but I can’t even write a single sentence of 100 words or less.

  9. Okay, you piqued my interest. I posted a story on your challenge board! 😀

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

