Interview The Limebird Writers!

by limebirdwriters

I was over on Robin’s blog and came across a section that she had called ‘Interview Robin’, which I really liked the look of. I hope you don’t mind Robin, but I’m going to do something similar!

So, there are 11 of us on the team here and I thought it would be fun for you to get a chance to know us a little better. So, please do ask us any questions in the comments sectionย  either specifically to one Limebird ( Find out more about each of us here – https://limebirduk.wordpress.com/meet-the-team/ ) like questions about editing to LimebirdKate or questions about comics to LimebirdSophie.

It could be about writing, or even just a general one like… ermm.. what’s your favourite chocolate? Anything you like! I’m looking forward to seeing your questions! ๐Ÿ˜€

PS – If you would like to ask more detailed questions, then please do check out our forum.

Limebird Logo

48 Responses to “Interview The Limebird Writers!”

  1. Thank you! Love the complement above. And answering the question you asked.

    My turn: How long have you been writing?

    • You are welcome!

      Ohh good question, but a tricky one. I have been writing stories since primary (elementary) school. One day I’ll have to post some extracts of these! I kept this up, writing poems and short stories all the way through school and then I studied English Literature, Language and Journalism at University, so lots of writing there.

      However, I started writing professionally in 2009 and wrote my first book and started Limebird in 2011… so ermm… I’m not entirely sure! Haha, sorry that doesn’t really answer the question. Eep!

      Hopefully the other Limebirds will have a more definitive answer! What about you?

    • Hi Robin,

      I wrote lots of stories when I was a kid. That was how I coped with being the new kid in strange schools, or fighting with a friend, or performing poorly at a piano recital. My emotions have always been tied to my writing, and it is the best way for me to express my feelings. Otherwise, I am fairly shy and reserved and stoic.

      I continued my passion througout the years, although I will say there was a while that I gave it up because I thought I wasn’t any good.

      When I finally went back to writing, I realized I have never been so happy or healthy, even. Isn’t that funny? So, for me, writing is good for mind, body and soul. I can’t imagine ever not writing again.

      Thanks for a good question!

    • Well for myself, I wrote a lot of mediocre poetry when I was an angst-filled teenager. After high school I went to work for a living and the writing got put on the back burner. I wrote things here and there in the years between, but not much. A few years ago I picked it up again, and got a little more serious about it.

  2. What is your favorite writing tool?

    • Personally, I don’t think you can beat a good ol’ notebook and a pencil. I always have one on me at all times in case I want to write something down or have an idea and I love the authenticity of it.

      However, at work I have to opt for a word processor, simply because I have to write a large quantity and it just wouldn’t get done in time if I wrote it on paper! What about you?

      Thanks for your question Leila! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I’ve become dependent on my laptop. Our power was out one weekend, and I got out my handy old pen and notebook, and by the next day my hand was so cramped it hurt! Still had to type it all into the computer, so that’s my tool of choice now.

    • Hi Leila,

      For me, I am rarely far from my laptop. If I know I’ll have some downtime waiting for the kids to get out of school or what have you, I’ll work on my laptop wherever I’m stuck waiting. But I also carry a writer’s notebook and pen wherever I go in case I see something that triggers the writing senses!

  3. What authors inspire you?

  4. When you see yourself a year (5, 10) from now ~ as a famous published author ~ what do you see yourself writing?

    • I think that my fortรฉ is romantic fiction with a fantasy edge! So, I think that’s what it would be! ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s what I enjoy reading/writing. If not, I would LOVE to write a book for children.

      What about you limebirdneeks?

    • Ooh, good question Neeks. I think that I would be writing the same stuff that I’m writing now–mainstream fiction centered around dysfunctional families. Let’s just say I have a lot of inspiration. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      What about you?

      • Well Limebirds Kate and Beth, I hope to be writing fiction. lol. Maybe the short stories will get longer, and maybe a book would be in the making. Stranger things have been known to happen!

  5. ‘Ello! Do you listen to music when you write? If so what type/sort of music do you listen to?

    • Another good question! Actually, during the holiday season I love listening to Christmas music, all singers from Sinatra to U2. The rest of the time I like showtunes or songs from Broadway or just theme music from movies/TV shows. I like the comfort of familiar songs when I’m writing; they don’t interfere with my imagination as much as other music does.

      How about you? Music or No Music?

      • Cannot beat Sinatra! So much better than most of the rubbish that’s forced into my ears on a daily basis. I listen to theme music from movies too when I’m writing, it helps me set the mood, “About Today” by The National which was featured in the film Warrior is an awesome song or me to write to.

      • Ludovico Einaudi~!!! You’ve just earned 50 Peter Points for that, I love classical music very much, I first heard him when he did the theme for This Is England and since then have been hooked on his music, I own a few of his albums now.

        When I was in France last year, listening to his music kept me sane.

        Favourite songs definitely consist of “Giorni Dispari”, “Divenire”, “Oltremare” and “Primavera” and so many others! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Ohh wow. What can I redeem with Peter Points? I would quite like a holiday….

        Awesome, I’m happy to meet a fellow Einaudi fan. Well, my dad was a big fan of classical music so I’ve always liked it and along the way I found Einaudi! My fave album overall is probably Divenire but I also like the song ‘I Giorni’, makes me calm! I also have Sotto Falso Nome! Ahh I could go on!

    • Well hello there!

      It definitely depends what I’m writing! If I’m working, the music has to be quite quiet because I do specific targetted web copy and articles/press releases so I have to concentrate!

      However, when I did Nanowrimo, I listened to Florence and the Machine, Birdy and Ludivuco Einaudi ( I know it’s classical, but he’s done a lot of soundtracks, which you might enjoy!)

      I am partial to a bit of rock normally, but I can’t listen to it when writing, because I start air drumming! haha.

    • Christmas music in season, 70’s to 90’s the rest of the time. Love the old rock bands.

  6. Do you snack when you write? If so, what do you like to have on hand? Also, thanks, limebirdbeth, for following my blog!

    • Hi Darla! I thought we already were following you and I just noticed we weren’t, so I rectified that!

      No, not really. I don’t generally eat that much during the day anyway, so I normally just have drinks near me. Usually water! What about you? ๐Ÿ™‚ Great q!

      • The water bottle plus raisins and almonds, especially when I’ll be writing for hours. They give me an energy boost. And if there are M&M’s around, Neeks, you can be sure they’ll be near my keyboard.

    • Hi Darla,

      Nope, I don’t snack. I don’t like to waste time snacking when I am writing, mainly because I get such limited time to write. I’ll say that I have gone hours without eating anything because I have become so entrenched in my stories and I don’t want to get up to eat!

      I will drink though: coffee/tea in the AM, and wine/beer if I’m working late at night.

  7. Do you have a specific quote, saying or mantra that you always come back to when times are tough, or you need to remind yourself of keeping sight of your dreams? If so, please share ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes! I have two.. the one to do with writing is by Leo Rosten which said that โ€œThe only reason for being a professional writer is that you just canโ€™t help itโ€. I think this is so true that you write simply because it happens.

      Also, a general one is “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” Gandhi. I love this one, it’s just so inspirational!

      What about you Tracey?

      • Thanks! Very inspirational, I’m writing them down ๐Ÿ™‚ Somerset Maugham has a quote similar to Rosten’s: “We do not write because we want to; we write because we have to.” Although I would change it slightly to say, “We do not write *only* because we want to…”

        As for me, in difficult times I always come back to the Serenity Prayer, “God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference.” Although I’m not religious, the sentiments of the prayer help with the quest for inner peace in times of turmoil.

        As for pursuing dreams, these change to suit the activity at the time! At present I like:
        “I’m not a very good writer, but I’m an excellent rewriter.” ~ James Michener
        “Writing is an act of faith, not a trick of grammar.” ~ E.B. White

        Hmmmm, this has got me thinking about doing a quote related blog post ๐Ÿ™‚

    • One of my favorite quotes is similar to Beth’s. It is by Sylvia Plath, “I write only because there is a voice within me that will not be still.” Simply put, we can’t help but what we are.

      Another wonderful quote that is applicable in all manners of tough times is this by the Lakota Sioux: โ€œSometimes I go about pitying myself. And all the while I am being carried on great winds across the sky.โ€ I love this because sometimes we forget how privileged we are to have life, and that we have choices.

      What a good question. Do you have a quote you live by?

      • Snap, we must have been replying at the same time! These are wonderful quotes, I think I might crack open one of my special notebooks and start a collection. Thank you.

      • Haha, yup, our posts crossed in cyberspace! I love the quotes you listed. I am familiar with them all. I do keep a log of quotes and usually use them in posts to highlight a point I’m trying to make. ‘Cuz sometimes I just can’t get out the right words by myself.

    • I love this one too by Maya Angelou – “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.โ€

      • @limebirdkate, a log of quotes is a very good idea. A teacher I know tells her students what a powerful exercise it is, to end a speech with a meaningful quote.
        @limebirdbeth, Maya Angelou is an inspirational woman and this quote is so true, its words just burrow into you.

  8. Great idea! I have a question about editing. When you have a manuscript done and you’ve already edited the dickens out of it, what’s the next step to get it edited before sending it on to either the self-publishing or regular publishing process (especially if you don’t have big bucks to hire a professional editor)?

    Thanks!

    • This is definitely a question for either LimebirdKate or LimebirdMike! – Guys?

      PS – Congrats on your Dark Globe nomination! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Lorna,

      Great question. First I will say that I highly advise having it professionally edited, but I understand it is cost-prohibitive. Even if you can’t afford to have the whole ms edited, consider having half or the first 50 pages professionally edited. When a literary agent or a publisher asks for a partial, they will ask anywhere from the first 5 pages to the first 50 pages. This is your first impression; you really need to make it count. Once it is in the publisher’s hands, they may or may not have an in-house editor who will do a copy or substantive edit as part of your contract. It all depends on the house.

      But, you do have other options if you absolutely can’t go the pro editing route. Get a beta reader or join a writer’s group to have someone else’s eyes and ears in on this. As much as you might think you caught everything, you (probably) haven’t. Also, you want to make sure these people you are relying on know what to look for in terms of structure, character development, plot, grammar, spelling, dialogue, etc.

      Bone up on your grammar/punctuation/spelling and go through your ms with a fine-tooth comb.

      Lastly, be really honest with and tough on yourself. If something doesn’t sound right, it probably isn’t.

      Good luck!

      • Thanks so much! Even getting a pro to edit 50 pages will give me a sense for what to look for in the rest of the manuscript. Wonderful advise!

        I know the value of many sets of objective eyes. My manuscript will be ready sometime in the spring of 2012. Maybe I can cultivate some contacts within WordPress who can serve as those “eyes.” There are so many talented and experienced writers here.

        Again, thanks and enjoy the Solstice! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • You’re welcome, Lorna. Don’t forget, Limebird forums is a good place to start if you’re looking for some feedback. And never hesitate to pm any of us Limebirds if you want further advice! ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

