I Resolve to Write and…

by limebirdkate

For the past three years, my New Year’s Resolution has been to write. Simple as that. And I have honored my resolution each year. I wrote. I wrote every day. I even found a time to write where I wouldn’t be interrupted, just so I could follow through on my promise.

But now it is not enough to resolve “to write.” I have to step it up. I need to challenge myself. Therefore, I am resolving to write—and write better.

Don’t get me wrong. To write is a hard enough resolution in itself. Whether the difficulty lies in finding the time to do it, or finding the support, or finding (and then maintaining) your confidence, resolving to write takes serious dedication and perseverance.

Resolving “to write” isn’t enough for me anymore, because the other day I realized that whenever I asked myself what I want to be when I grow up I never said, “a writer.” I always said, “a novelist.” (The difference between a writer and a novelist being publication.)

Upon realizing this I also recognized that part of becoming a novelist requires more than focusing on my one finished manuscript. There is a wide range of never-ending duties and responsibilities and lessons and goals in this venture. If want to be a novelist, then I need to up the ante.

That’s why I have come up with subcategories to my resolution:

In 2012, I resolve to write and

  1. Write gutsier
  2. Query every literary agent that fits my criteria
  3. Enter more short stories into competitions
  4. Write in a different genre
  5. Write about my family
  6. Query all publishers that will accept unsolicited submissions
  7. Take a writing workshop
  8. Write another book
  9. Build relationships in the writing community
  10. Read books from authors that I’ve never tried before
  11. When I’ve exhausted all the literary agents/publishing firms for representation, then I will look into self-publishing

So, there you have it. My New Year’s Resolution for 2012. What about you? Can you up the ante with your resolution?

20 Comments to “I Resolve to Write and…”

  1. Your resolve to find and maintain confidence to write strikes a cord with me. Probably does with most writers, whether they admit it or not.

    Love the first item on your list: to write gutsier. That’s going to be the baseline of my resolution this year. I’ve been writing, all the editing I’m doing to my novel is helping me to write better, but I find myself being too careful of how what I write my be received and I’m going to stop that.

    • Hi Madison,

      Good for you! I’m glad to hear you’ll write gutsier. Please keep us in the loop with how that goes for you!

      Thanks for commenting.

  2. Great resolutions! I always fail at the goals I set out for myself, but I’m going to think hard and really try this year to do more creative writing and actually muddle through fixing my 2010 NaNo novel, and hopefully turn it into novels.

    • Hi Laura!

      I love your resolutions. I especially think you’re challenging yourself with making your NaNo novel into something more!

      Thanks for chiming in!

  3. Wow, that’s an impressive list of resolutions. I look forward to hearing about your progress. I’m rooting for you. 🙂

  4. Hi, Kate – I’m thinking about goals for the New Year, too, and one biggie is on your list: enter into competitions. I want to do this mainly to get over the fear of rejection and accept it as part of the writing life.Your list is inspiring, that’s for sure!

    • Hi Darla,

      You have the right idea. Entering competitions is a sure-fire way to get over the fear of rejection–albeit on a smaller scale. It’s like easing yourself across a walkway of broken glass. By the end you might be a bit mangled but you’ll be a lot tougher!

      Let us know how you do with your resolution!

  5. Wow, 11 resolutions! Number 1 for me is to wrap up the revisions to Death Out of Time (and its sypnopsis) and get querying on it. Number 2 is to keep at the revisions to Summer at the Crossroads for future querying. Number 3 is to keep blogging and provide moral support and encouragement for my readers. Go at that list!

    • Hey JM,

      Haha, yeah 11 resolutions is a quite a lot, but I guess because they’re all kinda related the list doesn’t seem to be too overwhelming.

      I like your goals; they are very specific and purposeful. Good luck with accomplishing them all!

  6. I made resolutions and never kept them, so I don’t do it anymore. I resolve to try harder whenever possible. At whatever I might be doing. Your list is quite impressive, let us know how you do with it!

  7. I think I wanna do along the same lines. I need to rteally sit down and think about exactly what I want, and then I’ll let you know.

    Good luck, I’m going to cheer you on! ❤

  8. I started the postaweek last year to help my poetry writing. I think it worked, It gave me targets to reach, a propulsion to write, even when it was inconvenient. This year I want to try and edit more and do more rewrites. To try and put together a collection of sorts. And also to submit work to magazines, lots more of that.

    So that will be what I try to do more this year coming.

    Jim

    • Hi Jim,

      Those sound like wonderful goals. I especially like the one of how you want to submit more work to magazines. I think that is a tough one because it is so time consuming and then to boot, a waiting period regarding acceptance.

      Good luck!

  9. Loved this. I would go with the first Resolution as that could have a great effect on your overall quality of writing. Gutsier writing presents more creativity. I myself wanting to finish my first novel challenged myself by releasing unedited minibooks, 1 per month of the incomplete novel. So far I have done more than 120 pages in 3 months and counting with 3 minibooks released. Can’t wait to finish what I started over a year ago within the next few months.
    Thanks for sharing this great topic. Will be looking for more.

    • Hi Alphawriter,

      I love your self-challenge with the minibooks. What a great way to take bite-sized pieces out of a project that can seem impossible at times. Good luck with finishing. Keep us posted!

  10. At the end of NaNoWriMo 2010 I resolved to take the 50,000 words from November and turn them into 365,000 by October 31st (in time for NaNoWriMo 2011).

    I even made a timewasting spreadsheet with graphs and everything.

    I didn’t manage it, but did write 233,899 words. I now have a bank of finished stories, story drafts, poems etc. etc.

    I have now resolved not to have an arbitrary number target, but, in 2012, to:

    Finish everything in my current writing folder.

    To enter as many competitions as possible.

    To submit my novel to the publisher that I feel is perfect for it.

    To self-publish my SF collection.

    If my novel is not accepted by the publisher, to record it for podiobooks and release a chapter a week (coinciding with the launch of the print/e-book version).

    And to have fun!!!!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

