May the Force be With You.

by Neeks

“May the force be with you.”  ~Star Wars

We’ve all heard those memorable lines from movies and books that we end up quoting and repeating over the years.    “A rose by any other name…,” Shakespeare.  “I’ll be back,” from the Terminator.  “Nevermore!” Edgar Allen Poe.  Just hearing one of these lines brings to mind the movie or story that they come from and instantly take you back to it.  You remember who said it and what they were doing in the story when they said it.  “God bless us, every one!”  ~ as Tiny Tim so eloquently put it.

Those often quoted lines helped make someone famous.  The writer, the director, the actor that read the lines.  Youtube’s viral videos not withstanding, most of these lines started with someone putting a pen to paper and doing the hard work of writing them down.

Someday I want to write a line that people will remember.  I want people to read my work and see the smart-mouthed detective shake his finger at his partner and tell him/her:  “Guns don’t kill people, gaping holes in vital organs do!”  Oh come on, you say.  Not good enough?  Well I guess I’m “(You’re) gonna need a bigger boat.”  ~Jaws

What is your favorite oft-quoted line and what’s it from?   Something funny?  Sad?  Profound?  What would yours be?

20 Comments to “May the Force be With You.”

  1. Mine would have to be “Frankly Scarlet, I don’t give a damn.” From Gone With the Wind.

  2. Ohh this has got me thinking! I definitely know what you mean about wanting to write a memorable line, but I think I’ll have to get back to you on my favourite one! Watch this space…

    Again, great post Neeks! 😀

  3. My favorite quote, which I think I revised from someone else’s thought is: “May you live so that when you die, you know the difference.”

  4. “Prepare to be stomped like a late harvest gewurtraminer,” Niles, from Frasier. I just love how tough talking it was for a complete effete snob.

    My favorite non-movie/tv quote at the moment, though, is “the art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe” by Flaubert.

  5. I have too many favorites, I could spend hours looking in my quotes folder trying to pick one. Instead, here’s one from a favorite author, Ray Bradbury:

    “Dandelion wine. The words were summer on the tongue. The wine was summer caught and stoppered.”

    I think he also said “You only fail if you stop writing.”

  6. Thinking, whittling down the choices. Can’t commit to one. But love that I can check back here for more. Great post!

  7. “Curtsey while you’re thinking what to say, it saves time.” ~ Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking Glass

  8. I know what you mean- I’d love for someone to love my work enough to quote it. One of my favorites is “ever generation needs its heroes. Hmm, that was quite profound. You can quote me if you like.” from Fable. It always stuck with me and still makes me laugh!

  9. My favourite, “There ain’t no such thing as a free lunch” Heinlein, The Moon is a Harsh Mistress. Says it all.

    Jim

  10. Ok, one of my favourites is ” If you’re a bird, I’m a bird.” from The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. Lame, romantic and cheesy but I love it.

    I’m afraid the others are all really cheesy too. I am such a sucker for them!

    “You dont love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.
    –Jodi Picoult

    “If I had a flower for every time I thought of you…I could walk through my garden forever.”
    — Alfred Lord Tennyson

  11. Everyone, these are great quotes, and Thomas, yours made me laugh too!

  12. I guess though, being my birthday, that my favorite quote today is “Happy Birthday!” lol

  13. Basically anything from Fight Club – book or movie.

    “You are not a beautiful and unique snowflake. You are the same decaying organic matter as everyone else, and we are all a part of the same compost pile.” — lovely sentiment, no?

    And my favorite – “I am Joe’s Enraged, Inflamed Sense of Rejection” (In the movie it was “Jack” instead of Joe.. not sure why they had to change that…)

  14. From Hunter S. Thompson (I know, I know, but humor me,) “I have no taste for either poverty or honest labor, so writing is the only recourse left for me”

  15. “Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” Harper Lee, from my favorite novel, To Kill a Mockingbird.

  16. From “Michael” when John Travola is talking to the dog, Sparky while eating Frosted Flakes he just doused with sugar. He said to the dog, “Don’t let anyone ever tell you that you can put too much sugar on anything.”

  17. “Good Will Hunting,” Sean talking to Will about the beauty of peoples’ imperfections, “And then we get to choose who we let in to our weird little worlds.”

  18. “An I had but one penny in the world, thou shouldst have it to buy gingerbread.” ~ William Shakespeare

  19. Nothing we do is good or bad, but thinking makes it so. – Shakespeare.
    I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee. – Skyrim.

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

