Letters From My Younger Self

by limebirdwriters

Since I can remember, I have always loved to write. Whether it was scribbling things on a scrappy piece of paper, or writing extensive thank you notes to various relatives. I was always with a pen and some paper, jotting things down.

I recently received an email from my mum, which had a couple of pictures in it, asking if I could remember writing them. I opened them up and was presented with two letters that I had written to my Nan and Grandad between the ages of 8 and 11.

My Nan had kept these letters in her ‘precious’ folder which makes them even more special, but I would like to share them with you as I love finding old writing treasures. Here’s a little bit of background behind these, so they make more sense –Β  My Nan and Grandad are my step dad’s parents, but they have always treated me as if I was their biological grandchild.Β  The first letter I was around 8 or 9 and they had looked after me, and as per usual, I would get out my special notepad and favourite pen and assemble a small letter of thanks.

Text Version:

To Grandad and Nan,

I have really enjoyed my stay and I would like to say thank-you. You are really nice Grandparents and I’m glad you’re now mine. Once again thank-you.

Love from Beth

The time of this second letter was when my parents had got married and were on their honeymoon (I was around 11) and they had looked after us then.

photonanandgrandad

Text Version:

To Nan and Grandad,

Thank-you for looking after me last week and this week. I really love coming to your house to stay and this week and last week was (sic) very enjoyable. Although I miss my Mum and Alan lots, I thank-you for giving up your spare time to look after (me). I love you lots even though I’m your “adopted” granddaughter. Thank you once again.

Lots of love,

Beth

What makes me laugh is how very polite I am and the powerful evocative language I used, even then.Β  Also, my lovely signature at the bottom that used to always get on my mum’s nerves because I constantly signed everything, everywhere.

So, when did you realise your love for writing and have you ever come across some of your old work or letters you have written? I would love to see some! πŸ™‚

24 Comments to “Letters From My Younger Self”

  1. These are so sweet. πŸ™‚ I remember coloring in a picture or something and then writing a letter to my great grandmother on the back once, when I was younger — probably about six or seven — and then I couldn’t figure out how many “greats” to put on the envelope to mail it to her and my mom was like, “Be careful with the greats, or she’s going to feel old!” (which is ironic since she was like 92 at the time).

    I like looking back at my old writing notebooks and stuff from when I was in elementary school. It’s funny, because I can’t remember why in the world I thought those stories were so good (I even wanted to publish them back when I was writing them! *gah!*), but they are quite adorable to look at again. πŸ™‚

    • Hello, thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚

      Aww that’s so lovely! Haha, it’s funny the things that we do when we are younger! It’s always fun to look at old things, especially as your mind and imagination is so much bigger when you are young.

      I have a story somewhere that I wrote when I was about 12 about some mice which I thought was amazing at the time. I might have to try and dig it up the next time I go back to my parent’s house to see if it was actually any good! πŸ˜€

  2. I’ve always loved the feel of a pen in my hand. To this day, I have a pen fetish. I love a clean, blank notebook waiting to be filled with ideas.

  3. These are adorable! You were such a gracious child, too. (I recently found an old letter to my grandparents from eight year-old me, and mostly I just talked about myself.)

  4. Lovely letters, how sweet πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve got an old diary and many poems from when I was a young teen. They are too sappy to share as I recall. But I’ll take a look and see if something is worth sharing for a laugh! πŸ™‚

    Your early writings are, as others have said, so sweet.

  6. What fun to have these! (I love your signatures, ha ha.) I found a letter a few months ago that I wrote when I was six or seven to the ninja turtles… ahem. It was typed out though. I should rifle through my parents’ storage and see what turns up.

    • Haha, I know, it was a terrible habit! I still sign things now and doodle my name. Ohh gosh, that sounds really funny, I loved the ninja turtles.

      You should definitely dig them out! πŸ™‚

  7. That’s adorable. Your handwriting then is much better than my handwriting now! What a really nice little kid you were πŸ™‚ I wish I had letters like this. My friend has a box of all those notes we passed to each other in class – someday I’m going to have to get her to bring those over. I bet they are full of fun stuff like “Hi how was your lunch, mine was gross. Mr. Anderson is soooooo boring. Talk to you later” LOL!!

  8. These had to give you goosebumps. I remembered doing something like this in the 9th grade. The teacher’s assistant had the class while the teacher was out and had us write a letter to ourselves. She mailed it roughly 4 years after graduation to the address indicated. Awesome experience! Made me want a time capsule every 5 years.

  9. Writing for me was always an escape. I would read books or watch TV and want to escape into the worlds I’d found. The adventure of Laura Ingles Wilder, the mystery of The Hardy Boys, the magical world of Rainbow Bright and Wizard of Oz, I loved each and every story. Soon though, (when I turned 7) these stories weren’t enough anymore and so I started to create my own. And I have been writing ever since.

  10. Awesome, Beth! I kept a couple of diaries as a kid. My teen journals are filled to brimming with folded letters and funny thoughts about my latest crisis, including some really mean remarks about people! I have my electronic love letters printed and filed in chronological order, too. How quirky is that?

    • Hi Rilla, thank you for your comment! πŸ™‚ Oh wow, it’s always crazy to read stuff back from when you’re a child, you should post some funny bits if you find any!

      Aww, I think that’s lovely. I’ve got a lot of texts saved like that, so I can see the logic. How nice for you to have kept all of those!

  11. β€œI’m glad you’re now mine” is too sweet.
    LimebirdEightYearOldBeth had no idea how much your Nan would love that, I bet.

    -LimebirdBeth has tinkered with your comment, so it reads how you would like! πŸ˜›

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

