100 Word Film Reviews – The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

by limebirdaaron

Hi all,

I’ve been a part of the Limebird team for a while now, but I’ve been trying to think of something that I could do fairly regularly. I decided that film reviews would be the way to go, but there are so many out there, how I could make them slightly different?

Beth came up with the idea of 100 word film reviews. This way they’re not full of a load of waffle that you don’t want to read and it also gives me a bit of a challenge trying to fit a review into 100 words. Some of them will be for new films out, but I’ll also be doing older films I’ve watched recently. I will then give the film a score out of 10. This is just a overall score of what I thought of the film and as the type of films are likely to be varied, so a 7/10 score might not directly compare to a 7/10 from another film.

I hope you enjoy them and please do leave your opinions about the films.

Here is the first one:

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Having seen the original film adaptation of this book, I was slightly reluctant to see the American

remake, as I felt the original dragged on. The story is obviously pretty much the same as they’re both

based on the same book; I guess the improvement must come from a better director and bigger

budget on the American film. There are a couple of scenes which are uncomfortable to watch, but

are crucial to the plot. Sorry ladies Daniel Craig doesn’t have his James Bond body in this either. It’s

worth a watch, whether you have seen the original or not.

Rating: 7 limes out of 10

37 Responses to “100 Word Film Reviews – The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”

  1. I’m skipping it because I’ve heard it’s hugely misogynist. But I like the idea of 100-word movie reviews. Can you review “The Artist” for us?

    • No, I don’t think it’s misogynistic. If it is then so is Law and Order SVU. Lisbeth is fragile, and tough at the same time. She get’s her revenge.

    • Hi MK,

      I wouldn’t say it’s misogynistic, I think she comes across as a strong character that gets taken advantage of. Unfortunately, due to the area I live in, “The Artist” isn’t being shown in our local cinema (don’t judge me, it’s not a very ‘educated’ area), maybe I will have to wait until it comes out on DVD, if you can wait that long!

      Thanks for your comment.

  2. Love the idea of 100 word film reviews! I’m a movie nerd so anything to read or write about movies get’s my spidey senses tinging!
    I loved this movie. Though, David Fincher is my favorite director and he’s the reason I went to film school in the first place soooo maybe I’m a bit biased.
    A few people actually got up and left the theater after one of those hard to watch moments. I definitely wouldn’t want to watch it with my grandma!

    • Hi Laura,

      I’m definitely a film nerd too. I probably shouldn’t say this on a writing blog, but I think I would choose films over books! I can’t believe people left the cinema, although I had seen the original which in my opinion was even more uncomfortable to watch.

      Glad you liked the review!

  3. Nice review in 100 words. It is good to assume people know the plot. They can look it up if they don’t, you only have 100 words!

    It’s a cute idea too.

    You were concise and got your point across well. Good job!

  4. I’m another movie Nerd – Haven’t seen the new version, but really enjoyed the original and the book.- There’s something about the Nordics/Danes/Scandinavians (forgot the collective word) – and crime fiction.

    I remember reading years ago that they have a bank holiday which is almost synonomous with taking a pile of books up to the log-cabin in the woods and just reading. Before the holiday the bookshops are full of crime books. Hope I didn’t just imagine that – Sure I read it.

    Their TV crime is brilliant too – “The Killing” in particular – They don’t seem as obsessed as our TV drama makers with filling the screen with pretty people, perfect scenery, soundtracks that tell you how to react or warn you what’s going to happen, camera-work that always lingers on the “arty” shot or scenery, and dialogue that doesn’t recognise the power of silence.

    Sorry for rant – Great idea – Go for it.

    • Hello Unpub,

      I would have said you would prefer this version, but you seem to like the Scandinavian interpretation, so maybe not. However, I still think you would like it.

      I haven’t read the book myself, but I’ve spoken to people who have, and they’ve said the usual thing that the film changes and misses parts out. That has to be expected though for someone else’s take on it. I can’t say I’ve heard of that bank holiday before, but it sounds like something LimebirdBeth would enjoy! Thanks for your comment.

  5. Excellent idea on the 100 word review – I find some film reviews tend to be so self-indulgent I can’t be bothered to read them, but 100 word limit should certainly ensure they are focused and to the point.

    • Hi Vanessa,

      I tried to make it clear that it was my opinion, but to let the reader make up their own minds (which some other reviews tend to do by stating their opinion as fact). I hope that came across. Thanks for commenting.

  6. Hi Aaron,

    Love this idea. It’s so cool! And you did a great job in 100 words, too.

    I haven’t watched the movie because I haven’t read the books yet. I am soooo behind on my reading, but it is on my list. I’ll keep your review in mind when I finally get around to seeing it.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Kate,

      I haven’t actually read the books either. If I’m planning on watching the film, I always prefer to see the film first because your imagination is much better when you read the book, and your imagination won’t be able to live up to that.

      Thank you!

  7. Nice bit of work there Aaron, 100 words is going to be Very challenging! Good review too. I read the books and can’t wait to see the movie, all the more so now!

    • Hi Neeks,

      I actually was surprised the 100 words seemed to fit just right. I might find that this is a different story with other films though. You should definitely see the film if you liked the books. Let me know when you see it and what you think. Thank you.

  8. Great idea, made me read it twice, it was so succinct! I haven’t seen either of the movies, just read the books, probably won’t go out of my way to watch them, but if they cross my path at the library, perhaps.

    Love the idea of the 100 word review, short and succinct is perfect, bonne continuation.

    • Hi Claire,

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, not three times then? 🙂 If you’re not overly bothered about watching them, I definitely prefered the American version. That doesn’t mean to say you might not prefer the original.

      I’ll put another review up next week. Merci beaucoup.

  9. Great idea! I loved the Millennium series of books and also enjoyed the Swedish film adaptations. Wasn’t sure whether to check out the American version or not, but having read you post, I think I will. Thanks!

  10. Have to say I saw the US version first — Thought it was great. Totally disliked the original. The actress who played Lisbeth was way off the mark. Physically too big, She talked too much (I am comparing her to the book Lisbeth) and was far too socially integrated. If you read all three books, she basically started the character where the last book brought her. It bothered me so much I skipped watching the other two films.

    • I preferred the American version, without having the book to compare it to. I thought the original just didn’t feel right. I’m sure you’ll be watching the next US one though, as will I

  11. This was actually my favorite film of last year. My husband and I spend the last few weeks of every year seeing all the Academy Award nominated films. This was by far the best, I think. Although, honestly, I loved Hugo and enjoyed The Artist. Hope you get to see that one soon.

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

