My path into the world of journalism (part 3)

by poppycoxhead

To read the first two parts of my foray into the world of journalism and media so far, click here (part 1) and here (part 2). Firstly, I must apologise for the fact that it has been two weeks (for those interested in the outcome of my last post)!

Last time, I was waiting anxiously for news of a job that I could potentially get off the back of a marketing internship at a Michelin starred restaurant. My employers kept pushing the date of when I would hear about it back and I began to wonder if they were having doubts about me.

I wrote the article on here on the Friday and announced to all of the Limebird readers that I would be hearing about my job on the Monday. I then realised that if I didn’t get the job, I would be pretty embarrassed and would at some point HAVE to admit that I hadn’t got the job.

However, my boss tweeted me on the Saturday to tell me I had the job! It still hasn’t really sunk in that I have a job – two weeks and still feels a bit strange that I am almost like a real, normal person and soon, will be supporting myself completely (thank God for my amazingly supportive parents, both monetarily and emotionally, not to mention all the nagging to do everything that I possibly could!).

As first jobs go, this is a pretty cool one. It’s amazingly laid back, but not to the point where people take advantage of it – it’s just a really great place to work. A large part of my job involves social media and by being on Twitter and Facebook for a lot of the day, I’ve learnt loads about what NOT to do if you’re a business, as well as knowing every cool place to eat in London (as well as getting to eat at some of them occasionally). My boss is writing a book and I get to help out with ‘copy management’ which means I will get a credit in the book, published by a big publishing house (deats are still hush-hush). There are of course admin tasks such as updating the website and laborious research sometimes, but otherwise, I’m having a ball!

So thank you, limebirders, for being there on my path with encouraging words and thank you limebirdbeth, for giving me the opportunity to write on this ever-growing, brill website!

My next post will be about tips for CVs and applying for jobs in the media (I’m no expert, but I’ve re-written it enough times and got enough expert advice for there to be something useful there!).

16 Comments to “My path into the world of journalism (part 3)”

  1. Congratulations LimebirdCharlotte, I’m so proud! *wipes tear* haha! I’m so happy for you, you must have really impressed them! Getting credit in the book is amazing, do keep us updated.

    I’m sure the CV post would be very helpful! 🙂

    • Thanks Beth! I guess I must have, I don’t know how though! I will, there will probably be a massive photo on here come next year when it’s published!

      Will be up next week, hopefully.

  2. Great, Charlotte! Congratulations! Sounds like you’ve landed the perfect job. Look forward to reading your tips on CVs and job applications. Hoping you can pass on some magic ;-). Well done! Mý Huê

  3. Brilliant news well done! I look forward to the CV and application tips, I’m always updating mine regardless of my employment situation and you always need to tailor them to the job you are applying for so tips are always helpful 🙂

    • Absolutely, it’s so important to change it all the time as your experience/skills and the job spec change all the time! Thanks for the congrats too!

  4. That is great news…well done.

  5. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeooooooooooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooop, so happy for you, congratulations! I’d been wondering when we were going to get that Monday follow-up.

    (aka limebirdsally)

    • Thank you for your extra long congrats, I’m over the mooon! Yeh, it took me way too long to post this *looks sheepish* need to start giving myself deadlines!

  6. Contrats Charlotte! I’m, so happy for you. At first I was like ._, “He tweeted her that she got that job? Didn’t bother calling?” Then I saw that is an important part of your job!

    I hope you enjoy it!

    • Thank you! Yeh, it’s a very Twittery orientated thing so it was quite nice,and I knew without opening it it would be positive because no-one would say ‘you haven’t got the job’ publically, right?

  7. Congrats! It sounds like the perfect job!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

