Hints and Tips For New Bloggers

by limebirdwriters

Great blog post all about hints and tips for new bloggers. Click above to read the rest of the post. 

B x

14 Comments to “Hints and Tips For New Bloggers”

  1. Thanks for reblogging that Beth, it’s always comforting to know we are not alone in our mistake-making! I’ve been wrestling a bit (in my head) with the ‘theme/niche’ thing. My blog is pretty random and unthemed, and I kind of like it that way; I want to talk about lots of different things. I know I could have more than one blog going, but I don’t really want that, I want all of me in one place! But I take on board the comment that people might sign up to the blog thinking it’s one thing, and then it turns out it’s lots of other things too. Anyway, I’m starting to ramble a bit here, but I’m just airing my resistance to theming myself!

  2. Thanks for the reblog and the kind words, Beth 🙂

    (Is it bad form that I “liked” this reblog?) 🙂

  3. I had to tell you — I just published the first post of a 30-Day challenge I, myself, wrote, and I still forgot Categories and Tags. 8-(

  4. I have received Candle Lighter Award and the One Lovely Blog Award and I am passing them on to you. Thank you for sharing you site. http://misskittyroads.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/honored-once-moretwice-actually/
    Much love, Kitty

  5. I’m guilty of some of these (fly by your seat, check! lol) This is such great advice though!

  6. Guess I’m liking the “reblog” too. Very helpful, as I’m new too. The cleanest way to manage the typos and tech stuff is to write every blog on a word.doc file first … edit …… copy and paste. I’ve tagged religiously, but am still not “categorizing.” Yes, not sure I understand Categories just yet. Too, I’ve been jumping around with topics…. writing or marketing, my own book prmotion blurbs, couple political issues. I am considering settling down to one area of interest or authoritative about ….. as advised by marketing experts.

    • Hi Tim,

      Yes, I write everything in word first as well. Definitely is good practice. Ok, well I would define categories as a more general version of the tags. So, the first level of the tier.

      So let’s say I was going a post on correct grammar in novels. I would do:

      Categories

      Grammar, Writing, Novels

      Tags

      grammar in novels, writing tips, writing advice, correct grammar, writing

      etc.

      Drop me an email if I can help with anything else. 🙂

  7. Thank you for reblogging this. There were some things I didn’t know about that I wish I had learned earlier. One example, if I would have known about the scheduler for publishing posts I would have written a bunch before my daughter was born to publish weekly so that my blog wouldn’t be inactive like it’s been for the last two months. Also, thanks for introducing me to another great blog.

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

