100 Word Film Reviews – Ghost Rider 2, Spirit of Vengeance

by limebirdaaron

Happy Friday! This week in the 100 word film reviews, I will be reviewing the remake of Ghost Rider.

Ghost Rider 2, Spirit of Vengeance

Ghost Rider 2

Nicholas Cage is definitely at his best when he is playing someone crazy, as he showed us in Bad Lieutenant, but the mix of comic book style action and his wacky method acting doesn’t seem to mesh. This movie isn’t a sequel and the new director is definitely trying to re-launch Ghost Rider darker than before, so the couple of comical moments and the 12A rating seem a little odd. As you’d expect with a Marvel film the special effects are brilliant and the 3D is impressive, but I think a better script could have made this a great film.

6 limes out of 10

Have you seen this? Did you prefer the original?

 

Other 100 word film reviews:

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Sherlock Holmes 2

Underworld Awakening

Chronicle

127 Hours

 

27 Responses to “100 Word Film Reviews – Ghost Rider 2, Spirit of Vengeance”

  1. Hmm I wasn’t 100% on this film. Nicholas Cage just seemed a bit TOO crazy and it was a bit uncomfortable to watch. I didn’t mind it, but definitely wasn’t one of the best films I’ve seen. However, I’ve not seen the original so don’t have anything to compare it to!

  2. I’m pretty sure that movie gave me brain damage. Nicholas Cage was just… scary. I think it was a documentary, capturing the loss of this man’s sanity! Also, I fell asleep during the movie, and my husband poked me and asked if I was asleep, and I said yes and shut my eyes to go back to sleep. That was after it had damaged my brain so much I couldn’t watch anymore.

    • This comment actually made me laugh out loud. I take it you weren’t a fan. I’m surprised you could sleep though with all of the loud action scenes

      • Hehe well…. it certainly wasn’t the worst movie of all time, it was just — weird. He seemed a little too over the top , but I never saw the first one so maybe I’m missing something.

  3. I’ve seen some bad reviews for this one so will leave it for TV. I definitely prefer crazy Nicholas Cage to ‘normal’ Nicholas Cage though – he’s never completely convincing when he’s playing sincere!

  4. I liked him in City of Angels and in the Treasure movies. Wasn’t all that thrilled with the first Ghost movie, and by the sounds of it won’t miss much if I pass on the second. Thanks for the review.

  5. Ohhh dark. I think I wanna see this. ++ Cage makes me swoon. 🙂

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

