Indie Book Recommendations (Follow up to how to publish an e-book part 2)

by limebirdsally

Thank you for visiting and contributing to a really interesting discussion on the indie publishing world. Next Monday’s post is less preachy, and more just an overview of the process for those interested in self-publishing in future!

Personally I’d love to find some good indie writers, so I’d be really grateful for any recommendations of great indie e-books you’ve read. Please either use the comments below to summarise title, author, genre and brief overview, or for a more detailed review it would be great if you could visit our indie book corner in the forums and also come back to the forums to share future gems.

Forums / Writing related topics / reviews and recommendations / indie book corner

This is for independent reviews please, but if you’d like to plug your own work, or that of family and friends, please use Indie Book Showcase.

Thank you and happy reading!

26 Comments to “Indie Book Recommendations (Follow up to how to publish an e-book part 2)”

  1. Ohh what a great idea Sally! I’m looking forward to finding some great indie books! πŸ˜€

  2. indie writers…who do I love? I love Josh Lanyon he writes the best m/m mysteries ever. By that I mean he is an incredible writers that happens to write in the m/m arena. You will not be disappointed by any of his work. My personal favs are the Adrien English mysteries but his short stories are also incredible. He is currently on sabbatical and taking back many of his work to be self-published but the majority of his work is available on amazon. Harper Fox is also amazing, similar in tone although she hails from the UK — I think Lanyon is US. My fav of hers are The Salisbury Key and Life After Joe although Driftwood is awesome too. She has a new one coming out this month! Angsty stuff, luv it. If you like more ‘traditional’ romantic suspense Barbara Freethy can be good–she has been picked up by the majors pretty recently tho. I have other m/m suggestions if anyone is interested — I started reading them when I ran out of standard reading material (I read A LOT) and it has opened a whole world of really well written work. I also like sci fi–but that has been more hit and miss for me.

  3. I guess I ought to recommend myself, no? I have a YA contemporary novel with a paranormal twist titled, Near Death (under MB Mulhall), in Kindle’s direct program at the moment. I hope to have my second novel, a humorous contemporary YA novel called Tears of a Clown, published this summer.

    If vampires are your thing, check out my writing partner, Patricia Lynne’s novel, Being Human. It’s an interesting twist on the whole vampire thing that fans of the genre would appreciate.

    For authors I totally don’t know but enjoy: Kait Nolan’s Red. Great book as well as Tess Oliver’s Camille (ooh which I just saw has a sequel out! Yay!)

    Also, Patti Larsen is another great author writing some paranormal novels and some suspense/action similar to the maze runner by james dashner

  4. Thanks for this series! It’s been a real learning experience.

  5. I’m confused – the post says that Indie Book Showcase is the place to plug your own work, but that thread hasn’t been used yet. I guess I could start it. Or would you rather we just plug our own work right in public comments?

    • Hi Lorinda,

      It was started on the back of this post. It’s up to you if you would like to use the forum or the comments!

      B

      • Well I was hoping the comments here would be for independent reviews so people who’ve just read something and thought it was great with no personal connection to the author. The same goes for the indie book corner, but I think there have been some personal recommendations in the comments section here so it’s fine to open it up πŸ™‚

        Any forum member can also visit the Indie Book Showcase and start a new thread so that’s a great place to let us know what you’re up to – you could add a book blurb to any published work so limebirders can see if it’s something they’d like to go and read.

  6. One book I enjoyed last year was “Where Did It All Go Right?” by Andrew Collins. It is an autobiography about growing up in Wellingborough, Northants, in the 70’s. It is funny and, as I was a couple of years older than him, seven miles down the road, I could get the various 70’s culture references.

    (Must go now, I have an inexplicable urge to eat Angel Delight!)

  7. OK, two questions!

    I’m an ignorant American. What’s Angel Delight?

    Re the Indie Book Showcase section of the forum: Maybe I’m blind, but I went in there to plug my novel, which is about to be published at last, and there is no message box at the bottom. Should you add that, or is there something I don’t know?

    Therefore, I’m going to plug my book here: “The Termite Queen: Volume One: The Speaking of the Dead” is finally going to be published in print form next week, barring a complete meltdown of CreateSpace (I’m awaiting the second proof copy, which I think will be satisfactory). In the meantime, you can read the first 11 chapters on http://termitewriter.blogspot.com. I intend to add two more chapters – one tomorrow and one on Monday. The chapters have received no bad press and some very positive responses (see comment under the cover picture in the blog’s sidebar). I hope some of you will want to buy the piece and read it! It’s a great off-world adventure, a complex love story, and a study in how we might communicate with intelligent extraterrestrial species.

    • Hi Lorinda,

      The forum was my fault, I have updated it now. Thanks for bringing to my attention! πŸ™‚

      R.E – Angel Delight… I honestly don’t know how to describe it. It’s like a whipped dessert, kind of like a mousse… and you get it in like strawberry, banana, butterscotch flavour. πŸ™‚

  8. Thanks for the vivid descriptions! πŸ˜‰ We probably have something like Angel Delight here in the States, but the closest I can think of is Jello Pudding Cups (non-refrigerated). Those can be quite tasty, especially if you put Hershey’s chocolate syrup on the vanilla ones!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

