100 Word Challenge – The Limebirds Take On Sonnets

by limebirdwriters

Hello all, it’s Friday! HUZZAH! It’s nearly the weekend! 🙂

So, this week’s prompt is..sonnets… eep! Here’s what you have to do… according to Julia!

“Your mission, should you wish to take it up, is a BIG one. We are going to celebrate the Bard by writing sonnets! I can see some frowns! Don’t worry it will stretch your creativity.

  1. You MUST write 14 lines only
  2. You can use 10 syllables per line (choice)
  3. You could use the following rythmn – a-b-a-b, c-d-c-d, e-f-e-f, g-g. (choice)

So, the least you have to do is write 14 lines. Limit is around 100 words. You may need to go over slightly if you choose to do 2 and 3. The topic is of your choice.”

100 word challenge

So, only LimebirdKate and LimebirdLaura were brave enough to take on the challenge this week.

LimebirdKate

limebirdkate

She took her time, she was in no hurry

And all I could do was fret and worry.

He’d gone already, to bed he’d been sent

Left me alone in pain is what that meant.

The bird chirped above softly, peep, peep, peep

There was no chance I’d ever fall asleep

So I breathed in time, I thought of the room

In green and yellow, a garden in bloom.

The bird’s song went wild and way off course

The door burst open, I was met with force

On went the mask, they said we’ll be okay

I told myself to breathe, be calm, and pray.

It’s been nine years since that day of flurry

She took her time, there’s no need to worry.

LimebirdLaura

laura

My mother burst into my bedroom door,
“Oh the sight, oh the fright, oh what a sound!”
My eyes open wide, “I must know more!”
“A dragon!” she says “Out flying around.”

A real live dragon, is it really true?
A creature of myth flying through my town.
My mom’s eyes wide, I know what I must do.
I grab my sword – this dragon will go down.

My sword sits snug, dangling upon my hip
The quest accepted – the dragon must die.
I set out the door on this epic trip.
I swung my sword and killed it, in one try!

But now my eyes droop – asleep in my bed
The dragon I slayed was just in my head.

21 Comments to “100 Word Challenge – The Limebirds Take On Sonnets”

  1. I have written a love sonnet to my husband’s hanky! But I can’t share it as it’s being marked 😦

  2. Well, I did what I could–terrible job at the rhythm–but this was my first sonnet so I guess I’ll be happy I tried it at all!

    Laura, I thought yours was great! I love the force and enthusiasm in your piece, you sound so heroic! 🙂

  3. I love sonnets! Will be back with my contribution later!

  4. Kate – I quite enjoyed your rhyme scheme, and the wraparound of ideas at the end. Perhaps because I’m embroiled in my own narrative crisis at the moment, this brought to mind waiting in hospital. Very evocative.
    Laura – Such heroism! Even if it is a dreaming moment, there’s such fluidity and determination. I love how your hero/ine doesn’t even second-guess the action of taking up sword against the dragon. 😀

  5. OK, here’s mine:

    Cthulhu Comes

    Crouching above the jagged-tooth skyline
    Spindle legs crush the hopes of all we know
    Impossible angles of dread design
    Tear at the minds of those scattered below

    A rip in space allows more ancients in
    To take back all that grew beyond their sight
    The race of man wondering what the sin
    That could deserve the lash of demon’s might

    No gun can blast, no knife can cut the flesh
    Of such creatures come from beyond the veil
    Tiny humans caught up within the mesh
    Cannot escape, but only scream and wail

    Each fragile soul expires as willed they must
    Cthulhu comes and all is turned to dust

  6. Kudos to you all for taking on a tough challenge! I don’t think I could do this one! And I interpreted Kate’s to be giving birth to a baby girl who took her sweet time about entering the world…. And I wonder what Shakespeare and others would think about the fantastical nature of Laura’s and Dennis’s works?

    Very creative, all of you!

  7. It was a tricky one but I’m so impressed by the entries I got this week. Many thanks to you all for taking the time to think and write. Will would be proud of you!

  8. Great job guys! This one was a really tough one, so I’m proud you were able to do it! I did try a few times but it just wasn’t going to happen. haha!

  9. it is amazing how different and how the imagery is so alive in all three… very enjoyable to read!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

