Wedding Bells For Three Limebird Writers!

by limebirdwriters

Hello all,

I know I’m breaking from the world of writing here for a bit, but it’s the weekend and we have exciting news in the Limebird camp.

You’ve probably guessed it from the title, but three Limebird Writers have got engaged in the past few months! Fantabulous.

LimebirdLorna

Lorna recently got engaged to her wonderful other half Neil (aka Sarge), who you may have heard about if you read her personal blog Gin and Lemonade.

Here’s the story in her own words:

I proposed to my fiance on Leap Day, 2012.  Sarge and I met on Match.com, bonded over Murakami novels and then met for lunch two and a half years ago.  We took the lettuce off our burgers.  At the same time.  From that moment on, I knew he was the one for me.  The fact that he was a non-writer didn’t bother me.  The fact that he didn’t like cheese was harder to take.  But I loved him.  On our second date he bought me a box of vanilla tea I’d been looking for, for years.  It was then I decided I could live with a cheese-hater.  We moved in together six months later.  We like to watch box-sets, do our own things and sometimes find ourselves singing the theme from The Golden Girls.  To each other.

I sometimes wonder if we are getting old, but if we can grow old together, bring it on.

I’ll just keep on pretending he’s Lactose Intolerant.

Actual proposal story: A Path of Pebbles

Limebird Beth & LimebirdAaron

Hello all,

The last two are a kind of combined effort here, but after dating for 5 years, Aaron proposed on the 10th April, our 5th anniversary. We met at University, doing martial arts. When we first met, I accidently kicked him in the *eh hems…* and he still wanted to go out with me surprisingly (crazy man). We’re perfectly matched.. I’m crazy, he puts up with my crazy. I’m impulsive and rash and easily excitable, he considers options and looks at things logically. But, the moment I knew that he was the one for me, was one day when I tested to see if he could put up with my weirdness. Basically in one of his old rooms, he had a bed which was high up and had quite a lot of space underneath. One day he went out of the room, I decided I would hide under it and see how he reacted.(I know, it’s weird.. but you know).

After waiting under there for much longer than I anticipated, he came back in. I could hear him getting confused and wondering where I had gone. Then I heard him say ” Surely she can’t be hiding” or something like that. At this point, I realised I was well and truly wedged under the bed and there was no way I was getting out and started to laugh. He then crouched down and found me there, completely stuck and burst out laughing. I think if he had been like “what the hell are you doing, you nutter?!” it wouldn’t have worked.. at all.

So, the proposal day.. We both had the day off work, the weather was a bit miserable but we decided to try and make the most of it. I was awoken by a lovely fried breakfast in bed (I did ruin this though… I came downstairs and it was meant to be a surprise.. I get lonely on my own! ) and then we were going to have a picnic in the park, but the English weather had other plans! We had an indoor picnic, complete with blanket, nibbles and fizz. (The third picture above, was taken on that day… we went for a small walk after)

Later on, we went for a lovely dinner in one of our favourite restaurants, then we got back, both exhausted. I ran upstairs to drop my bag off, and as I got to the top of the stairs, I spun around and was picked up and brought into our room. (Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere rude! haha) At this point, I was pretty confused and saw that our room was covered in flowers. Completely overwhelmed by what was happening, I could also see just how nervous Aaron was looking. He asked me if I wanted my anniversary present and told me to close my eyes. When I opened them, he was on one knee holding the most beautiful ring and asked me to marry him. I was going to joke and say no, but he looked a bit like he was going to pass out, so I decided against it. There was lots of hugging and kissing and excitement.

Well, until I was told that my ring was going to be stolen away from me to be properly sized. Hurumph. Of course it’s lovely that it’s perfectly sized for me, and it should be here on Wednesday.

Anyways, I’ve babbled on here, so thanks for reading and a big congrats to Lorna and Sarge. Lovely!

B x

50 Comments to “Wedding Bells For Three Limebird Writers!”

  1. Good luck to all three couples.
    Be friends, always.
    And smile a lot.

    Jim

  2. Nice to hear the full story, Beth and Aaron!

  3. Who says writing is a solitary activity – you just need an understanding partner.
    Best wishes to all three couples. Every happiness.

  4. 😀 Congratulations to all three of you! Those stories are just book-perfect! 😀

  5. Congratulations! The stories of these matches were splendid. Best wishes!

  6. Congrats to all the happily engaged Limebirds!

  7. Best wishes, Limebirds! Good for you!

  8. Congratulations to all of you and the very best wishes for a future filled with laughter, fun and good times.

  9. Congrats to all… and bestest wishes!

  10. Wow, the stars must have been in alignment, congratulations all!

  11. Congratulations to all three of you! Best wishes for many years of happiness, love, and adventure. And writing!

  12. Best wishes to the best people, limebirds! I hope you are showered with blessings, always ❤

  13. Lorna, Neil, Beth and Aaron: Best wishes to all of you! May you have wonderful lives together.

    A room covered with flowers??? Now THAT boy’s got style!

  14. Congratulations you sweetie-pies x

  15. I’ve said my congrats to baron (Beth and Aaron) but congratulations Lorna! I also met my partner online and I have to say I’ve never met anyone that suits me so well. Bet wishes for the future. P.S I could not of accepted a cheese hater into my house… You must love him very much 🙂

  16. Congratulations, Limebirds, and all my best wishes for the years ahead.

  17. This is so exciting. A great bit congrats to the couples. I love a wedding

  18. What a fun post! In my humble opinion, finding someone who can deal with your crazy is the secret to success! Sounds like all of you have found that, good luck to you!

  19. Such fun proposals 🙂 Congratulations and best wishes to you all! When my husband proposed to me it wasn’t planned or anything, he just grabbed my hand and burst it out… and I laughed thinking he was joking. I quickly realized he wasn’t joking (oops!!) and we were married within about a month. Maybe a month and a half. I wasn’t pregnant like everything thought!

  20. Deep in my heart I know I’ll never find anyone who can deal with my kind of crazy, but the least I can do is congratulate those lucky folk who have. Have fun, you crazy kids.

  21. I’m a bit late joining the party here, but big congratulations to you all! Lovely stories there with both couples. I’d better buy myself a new hat then…

  22. Congratulations to all you lovebirds!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

