100 Word Film Review – Dark Shadows

by limebirdaaron

This week’s 100 Word Film Review is Dark Shadows.

Starring:

Johnny Depp
Michelle Pfeiffer
Helena Bonham Carter
Eva Green
Jackie Earle Haley
Jonny Lee Miller
Chloë Grace Moretz

I’m a big Jonny Depp fan and from the trailers I was expecting this film to be one of his familiar comically crazy roles. This was definitely crazy, but it lacked the usual humour which you’d expect. I think the film itself was confused over what it was trying to achieve. There weren’t enough jokes to make it a comedy, too many jokes to make it really dark, and some of the darker scenes were too graphic and adult for kids. Overall the film was a bit flat and didn’t really deliver in any department. A bit of a disappointment.

6/10 Limes

Other 100 Word Film Reviews:

Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Sherlock Holmes

Underworld Awakening

Chronicle

Ghost Rider 2

Safe House

The Hunger Games

Wrath Of The Titans

Marvel Avengers Assemble

Drive

13 Responses to “100 Word Film Review – Dark Shadows”

  1. Hmm…we were supposed to go see this last weekend but that didn’t pan out. I really do love Johnny Depp (even as Sweeney Todd and that movie was.. . yeah.) so I’ll likely enjoy it just for the Depp factor. I have to admit, when I first saw they were making it, I thought it would be more faithful to the original series. Silly girl.

  2. I remember the original series being on tv, my mom wouldn’t let me watch because it gave me nightmares!

  3. I was excited to see it when I first saw the trailer, then I started reading reviews after it came out and decided to just wait until I could rent the video. Seems like no one was really as thrilled with it as it seemed they would be. I love Johnny Depp too, and Tim Burton.

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

