100 Word Stories – Picture Prompt

by limebirdwriters

Hello all! As always on a Friday, we take part in the 100 word story challenges set by Julia’s Place. So, every week Julia will give a prompt and the challenge is to write a story in 100 words using that prompt!  This week the prompt is  a picture prompt (below)

100 word challenge

If you fancy taking part, then there’s more information at the bottom! We would love to see your 100 word stories! This week, the only person who was able to get a story together from this picture was LimebirdKate, the rest of us found it too tricky… so the spotlight’s on you miss!

LimebirdKate

The giant slammed his fist on the wooden table. His slaves leaped back, shuddering from his rage, the fear of what he might do next. The giant leered at them with his one eye, wild and green like a tangled rainforest.

Slaves in town heard the slam of the fist as they pulled the teapot along the street. They found the station and parked the teapot alongside the pumps. They anxiously looked from the teapot to the castle beyond. They had to satiate the giant if they wanted to live through the night.

But the station was out of tea.

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

22 Responses to “100 Word Stories – Picture Prompt”

  1. Hah! I liked this – what will happen next! I found this one really difficult too – but you can take a look at what I came up with here: http://worksbyclaire.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/100-word-story-the-last-laugh/

  2. Ah, I like that take, Kate! I never considered translating it to a giant real teapot! 😀 The giant’s description in particular is well-done: very faery-tale frightening. Nice! 🙂

    • Hi Mayumi, haha, actually I didn’t look at the picture closely enough at first and I thought it was a car shaped like a giant teapot. Then I realized what it really was. I love that one-eyed giant, too 🙂

  3. Love it Kate, how creative!

  4. Nice one Kate, and thank goodness you came up with one where the rest of us failed!

    • Here here! I tried and failed about three times, then my lunch break ran out and I was too tired. #tiredfridayfail Great job Kate!

      • Thanks Vanessa and Beth–I almost bailed on this week too–I thought it was very difficult. But I just closed my eyes and typed, basically. I typically think the picture prompts are the hardest.

  5. I’ll bet that was a tough one for everyone who normally takes part. I think Kate did a great job with it. 🙂

  6. Ooo I love it! I hope the slaves just made a run for it!

    • Hey laura, lol, I wondered what the slaves would do also. Luckily for me I didn’t have to figure it out because I’d already reached 100 words. Phew!

  7. Truly enjoyed your short story, Vanessa. You brought it together with zing and imagination. A teapot station, love it. Hope the slaves made it through the night.
    Blessings – Maxi

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

