100 Word Stories – … I blamed it on the dog…

by limebirdwriters

Hello all! Fear not, the weekend is upon us! As it’s Friday, we take part in the 100 word story challenges set by Julia’s Place. So, every week Julia will give a prompt and the challenge is to write a story in 100 words using that prompt!  This week the prompt is  “… I blamed it on the dog…” If you would like to have a go, scroll down to the bottom for more information.

100 word challenge

This week we have myself, LimebirdKate, LimebirdNeeks and LimebirdVanessa.

LimebirdBeth

Oh gosh my head hurts. What the hell did I do last night? Mouth dry, head pounding, I stumble down the stairs. Catching myself in the mirror, I groan at my bird nest hair. Cookies sits at the bottom of the stairs, tail wagging and a curious look in his eye. I gently pat his head. Opening the door to the kitchen, my mum stands angrily, pointing down to the carnage that seems to have ripped through the room. Evidently my drunk self fancied fresh waffles. So, with hesitation, trying to avoid his furry loyal eyes, I blamed it on the dog.

LimebirdKate

I have to tell her. I can’t hide it from them. Even if I blamed it on the dog, I’ll never get away with my third Failure.

Mom was mixing cake batter in the kitchen.

“Is that for us?” I asked.

“No. It’s for your father’s party.”

“Why bother? They’ll  fire him anyway.”

“Not after they taste this. I added the serum.”

“That hasn’t been tested yet, Mom. You don’t really know what’ll happen!”

“I guess we’ll find out.” She left the room.

They’d threatened to kick me out of the Black Forest if I Failed again.

I reached out and sampled the batter.

LimebirdNeeks

There are so many ways to kill a man, I nearly get lost in the wonder of it all. I could hit him over the head with a frying pan while he sleeps. I could drug him and blame it on the dog when I trip…drop that little toaster right on into the tub. “Honey, your toast is ready!” Zzzzt. I sound a little jaded, I know. But here it is, July 6, and you’ve…oh hold on. I hear you coming.

Oh! Oh how sweeeeet, flowers and dinner at my favorite restaurant ever? “Oh,
Happy Anniversary to you too, you darling man. I love you so!”

 

LimebirdVanessa

“So then what happened?” whispered Sarah.

“Well,” said Jenny, topping up their wine glasses, “then he started shouting about how Friday was steak night, and how Friday had always been steak night”.

“So what did he say when you told him you’d spent the steak money on those shoes?” gasped Sarah.

Jenny laughed. “Well I couldn’t possibly tell him that, how would a man understand? No, I told him that I did buy the steak”.

“Well how did you explain that there was no steak then?” asked Sarah.

“I blamed it on the dog of course!” shrieked Jenny, as the two of them collapsed into giggles.

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

13 Comments to “100 Word Stories – … I blamed it on the dog…”

  1. Quick question? Does it have to be posted today or can I post it on my Blog tomorrow?

  2. Still another question. When you say ‘link back to us’ I can’t find the link. For example on this page http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-47/ I can’t see any reference to Prompt 47 if that is the one about Blame it on the Dog. Have written my 100 words and would like to get it all sorted. Thanks, Paul

  3. Hmm, a lot of prompt-driven shorts I’ve read today have been dark, depressing, or moody. Is it something in the air? Anyhow, these are all well done as always, but thank you Vanessa for doing something lighter! 🙂

    • You’re welcome 🙂 Thank you for saying that too because funnily enough, when I was writing it, I wondered if I should try and write something darker because I never really do, but I couldn’t think of anything dark to go with those words so I stuck with the light!

  4. Good diversity in storytelling, but those poor doggies, taking all the blame. 😉

  5. Oh, Beth, have I been there…! 😀 Nice work capturing that sense of dread we’ve all experienced. Poor Cookies, though!

    Kate, I’m really curious as to this excerpt. What was the Failure? Will the narrator be ostracized, now, or will something come from tasting that batter? I’ve got to know!

    I quite enjoyed your narrator’s somewhat-schizophrenic inner monologue, Neeks! That turnaround from loathing to saccharine joy. I wonder if she’s just putting on a show, though, in preparation for later.

    Vanessa, your Jenny is certainly a little witch! Purposefully trading steak for shoes…and then blaming it on the dog! I do love the conversational banter between her and Sarah, though. I can almost hear their laughter, sitting not three tables away. 🙂

    Nicely done, all!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

