World Suicide Prevention Day

by limebirdwriters

Today is World Suicide Prevention Day. Please check out this post by Limebird Amber, and most of all, please don’t suffer in silence.

15 Responses to “World Suicide Prevention Day”

  1. Please don’t be silent. There is so much love in the world.there is plenty for you too.

  2. I keep coming back to this page to make a comment, but I keep not knowing what to say! It’s one of those subjects where you want to say something supportive, but everything you think of keeps sounding patronising or insincere.

    I think the message I would like to put out there is to those to who judge people who have committed or attempted to commit suicide, and brand them as selfish. To call them selfish is to not understand the absolute depths of despair some people reach – if you don’t understand those depths because you have never reached them yourself, then be grateful for that, and please show compassion for those who have.

  3. I was reading about Van Gogh earlier today and this post reminded me of him, my favorite painter and one of the world’s most influential artists who most believe committed suicide. He didn’t die right away and lived to tell his brother the now famous words, “The sadness will never end.” I agree with Vanessa about not judging and exercising compassion.

  4. I’m embarrassed to admit that I read the headline as “Word Suicide Prevention Day.” I must have been in that mind frame. But now that my brain is clear, please reach out to those who are alone or lonely today and let them know someone cares.

  5. I didn’t know about this day. My dad killed himself when I was just four (I’m 54 now) and still think of him. I wonder if he had died differently if his death would have had the impact that it did.

    What scares me most is that suicide is often glamorized. (I guess killing in general is glamorized in the media). If people only understood the futility of violence against oneself and others…

    This day and all days, I will actively promote love. Thanks for this post!

  6. Too many lives are taken this way. I wish everything who is struggling with suicidal thoughts had someone they could reach out to for support and help. Their pain must go so deep. My mother attempted suicide once but wasn’t successful and lived another thirty years. We never really talked about her overdose after she got out of the hospital and I regret that, although I think I do understand how desperate she was to try to take her own life.

    Thank you for reblogging this post today. Maybe it will help even one person.

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

