100 Word Stories – Picture Prompt

by limebirdwriters

WOOHOOOOO, it’s Friday! Yay, so happy that it’s the end of the week and I can see the weekend! As per usual, we have our 100 word stories, using the prompt from Julia’s Place. This week, the prompt is a picture prompt (below). If you would like to take part, then scroll down to the bottom for more information.

100 word challenge

This week it’s just myself and LimebirdVanessa taking part. I think all the other Limebirds are dusting off their party gear for Limebird’s 1st Birthday tomorrow! 🙂

LimebirdBeth

He checked his watch again. She was now 2 hours late. He knew deep down she wasn’t going to show. He had picked this spot because of their first date. Salty air whipping their cheeks and the way she laughed and he knew he loved her, even then.

He’d made one mistake too many, but he had hoped this would change things. Opening the box in his hand one last time, he admired his choice. A sapphire in the middle, her favourite.

He looked down at the rough waves again.  Slowly he released his grip and waited to see it connect with the water.

LimebirdVanessa

“Well how did he get there?”  asked Sarah.

“That’s what I’m trying to tell you,” replied Bess, “he just appeared after the light had gone”.

“I saw the light,” said Sarah “I thought it was lightening, but then it lasted a bit too long. And it was silent”.

The two girls shared one thought, but only Bess vocalised it “Do you think he’s human? I know he looks human, but when someone just appears from nowhere after a light, and sits there motionless for hours, you have to wonder.”

They looked at each other, nodded, and walked slowly towards him.

 

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

18 Comments to “100 Word Stories – Picture Prompt”

  1. Oh Vanessa, how naughty of you to keep me hanging! I like that you went all sci-fi on us! I want to know what happens next…

  2. Beth, awesome!! Those last two sentences…so perfect. Vanessa, that was pretty cool, I’m a sci-fi fan myself so this is right up my alley. I really enjoyed both 🙂

  3. Aw, Beth, I caught myself tearing up at this one. And Vanessa, that is an interesting opening to a cool sci-fi story. 🙂

  4. Beth, love what you did, here! Your narrator’s quiet melancholy and unrequited love is so powerful, especially when he admits the truth to himself. Well done!

    Vanessa, your mystery man – and the way the girls react to him – is a great lead-in. I really like that you told his entrance through them, using hinting dialogue. It’s a “trick” I need to practice, especially when I see great examples like this. 🙂

  5. Happy birtday to us, happy birthday to us, happy birthday to ussss happy birthday to us.

  6. Hey, I love this idea and both entries above are great. I want to know what he did that was so bad in Beth’s! I just gave this a go myself (and linked back to Lime Birds). You can see my attempt here: http://lordscree.blogspot.co.uk/ 🙂

    • Thanks Lordscree! 🙂 I’ll come and have a look now! B

    • I just read yours lordscree – love it! I hope you’ll be joining in every week now. Sometimes it’s a picture prompt, sometimes its words.

      • Thanks Vanessa! Yeah, I’ll give it a go every week if I can. After posting that yesterday, I realised that some of the previous ones were word-based prompts. Either sounds good to me. Do you ever go on to write more? Your entry for this week seems like it could be the start of something big!

    • No, I’ve never gone on to write more actually. I like to use the 100 word story as an opportunity to try out a different genre or style of writing than I usually would. Sometimes, like this one, I feel like I’d like to expand it into something more, but so far I haven’t!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

