Limebird Big 1st Birthday Giveaway!

by limebirdwriters

THIS COMPETITION HAS NOW ENDED, PLEASE DO NOT ENTER.

Wow, I can’t believe it, it’s our 1st Birthday! Hip hip horray! This year has just gone so fast, it’s unbelievable.

I’m going to hit you with some stats… over the past year, we have accumulated:

20 Limebird Writers

52,130 Views

4,052 Blog Followers

3,081 Twitter Followers

327 Facebook Friends

It’s so awesome! But I know you didn’t come here for facts, you came here for prizes! So, here we go…

The Big Limebird Bundle

Limebird Logo

Our main prize is a big ol’ jumble of Limebird goodies for your delight and delictation….

LimebirdKate – Copyedit Of Your Manuscript

LimebirdKate is offering a free in depth copyedit of a 1,000-word section of your manuscript. It can be any section of your MS, but it does have to be 1,000 consecutive words. Kate is an awesome editor, so you’ll be in great hands with her.

LimebirdVanessa – Beta Read Partner

Vanessa is offering her services to be your beta read partner! She will  beta read your short story, article, or novel and provide constructive feedback. Details on length and timing to be agreed between Vanessa and the prizewinner

LimebirdBeth – Blogs/Social Media/SEO

Want to promote your blog, but not sure where to start? Ok, this is where (hopefully) I can come in. Obviously if you’re already a blogging/social media whizz then you don’t need my help, but I am offering my expertise in the world of SEO/blogging. I can take a look at your site and give you some tips and tricks as to how to get your blog to the top of Google and how to increase your followers. I can do this over email/Skype/whatever you like.

Limebird Dennis – Poetry and E-Book

Dennis M. Lane (limebirddennis) is offering special editions of his two collections; each e-book will have a hand-written dedication scanned into the file.

The two books are:

8 Million Stories – A collection of general poems, published in November 2010.
An Alphabet – A Mind – Infinite Space
Poems of love, poems of loss.
Angry poems – happy poems.
Poems of family, poems of society.
Funny poems – frightening poems.
There are 8 Million Stories in the Naked City, these are just some of them.

The Poring Dark – Published September

A collection of 60 tales set on various worlds of the multiverse (12 short stories, 24 SF poems, 24 flash fictions). In which Dennis M. Lane looks at what it means to be human in a variety of settings. A new collection with some works previously having been seen in “Star*Line”, “Itch”, “Probe” and “Eye to the Telescope” and heard on “StarShipSofa” and “Tales To Terrify”.

For more details about the above books, plus free samples, visit here.

LimebirdSophie – Book Cover Graphic Design and Comics 

Sophie is an awesome graphic designer and is offering help designing your book cover! If you don’t have a book ready yet, then she could help you out with a funky header, logo or background for your website!

She is also giving away her special collection of Punisher Comics.

Guest Post on Limebird

We are also offering a guest post spot on the site, which you can use for whatever you like. To promote your new book, to promote your site, or even just a post about writing. Please be aware that this post may be subject to editing and must be appropriate for Limebird.

Limebird Mug and Extra Goodies

Just what everyone needs… a Limebird mug! We all know as writers, we go through many cups of tea and coffee, so why not drink it Limebird style! This mug will be ordered when the winner is announced as it will have your name on the back too! Also, you know us Limebirds like a bit of fun, so there’ll also be some fun extras hidden in with your prize! 🙂

What Do I Have To Do?

If you’re looking at these prizes and you’re thinking, yes please I’d like these.. well then this is what you have to do to be entered…. We love creativity and fun here, so what we would like, is for you to send us a picture/video of yourself using the word Limebird/Limebird Writers. It’s completely up to you how you want to do this,  it could be spelled out in cupcakes, it can be tattooed on you (Limebird Writers do not condone getting Limebird Writers tattooed on you), it can be a short video all about Limebird, it could be a song! Whatever you like! For example, like the pictures below and the video by Neeks (link below) that some of the Limebirds have done. Extra points for enthusiasm and creativity! Let Your Creativity Fly!

Or you could even do a video like LimebirdNeeks – CLICK HERE FOR VIDEO

We’re hoping this is going to be a lot of fun, but obviously we understand that not everyone will need their work critiquing/need blog help/need a cover design/ want to do a guest post, but you are able to pick which services you will like to take us up on.

Where Do I Send My Entry?

Please email your picture/video/ whatever to limebirduk@gmail.com with the subject line ‘Limebird Giveaway’ and this will close at 11:59 pm (BST) on October 29th 2012. The top three will be announced on the 31st October 2012, and will be put to a vote for the Limebird readers to decide who they would like to win.  More details in the terms and conditions below.

Additional Prizes…

These prizes are just some extra prizes that we are giving away, and all you have to do to be entered into this draw is write a comment in the box below and be following us here on WP. (It wouldn’t hurt to be following us on FB and Twitter too.. just cause you love us) This won’t affect the judging but we’ll give you a hug! The ending date for these will be the same as the Limebird Bundle (11:59pm BST 29th October 2012) and this will be chosen at random using a website.

So, the additional prizes are:

Signed Copy of ‘Poker Face’ by the amazingly talented Jess Sturman-Coombs.

A copy of  ‘On Writing’ by Stephen King

Personalised Notebook

[INSERT AWESOME PICTURE OF AWESOME NOTEBOOK HERE]

I haven’t actually decided which notebook to choose yet.. it’s between two. It will depend on the winner! 🙂

I would love to give away so many more things to you guys, but I promise when I win the lottery, there will be gifts for all! Good luck to all those entering, and we’re really looking forward to seeing your entries!

The Limebird Writers x

Terms and Conditions

  • Both competitions will end on Monday 29th October 2012 11:59 BST. Winners will be announced on Wednesday 31st October 2012.
  • Please send entries for the Limebird Bundle to limebirduk@gmail.com with the subject line ‘Limebird Giveaway’.
  • Prize winners for the Limebird Bundle will be whittled down to the top 3 by a panel of Limebirds. The power will then be in the readers’ hands to decide. The entry with the most votes will then win. (2nd and 3rd places will get a special Limebird Prize)
  • To enter for the additional prizes, all you have to do is  leave a comment in the section below and also be following Limebird Writers either through WP, Twitter or Facebook.
  • Prize winners for the additional prizes will be chosen at random using a website and will be announced on the 31st October 2012.
  • Only one entry per person to each competition. However, you are welcome to enter for the Limebird bundle and/or the additional prizes.
  • For those Limebirds who are offering out their services in the Limebird Bundle, it is at their discretion as to the limitations of what they are able to offer. They will be in contact with the winner to discuss the requirements in further detail.
  • Guest Post may be subject to general editing to ensure it is suitable for Limebird.
  • Prizes cannot be exchanged for a cash alternative.
  • In the event that one prize may become unavailable for whatever reason, Limebird reserve the right to offer an alternative prize of equal value.
  • Limebirds may or may not be bribed with confectionary.
  • All judging will be fairly conducted (we promise). On this note, Limebird Writers are unable to enter this competition.
  • Have fun.
  • If you have any questions, please tweet us/Facebook us/email us

Thanks! x

77 Comments to “Limebird Big 1st Birthday Giveaway!”

  1. Happy first birthday, Limebirds! Hoping you have many, many more!

    • Thanks so much Mayumi! You are officially the first person to be entered in for one of the additional prizes! 😀 Do you think you’re going to have a go for the Limebird Bundle? You’re so creative, I’d love to see what you could come up with! 🙂 B x

      • I do have an idea in mind, now that you mention it…!

        All of the prizes sound great, of course, but celebrating your first birthday is more about the fun of your little corner of cyberspace than any reward. It’s marvelous to see how far this site has come in only a year!

        Congratulations! 😀

  2. Woohoo!!! Happy birthday to all of us (and that includes you followers too!). Wow, Kate looks like Demi Moore in that photo doesn’t she!

  3. Stupid pos phone posted this on the wrong post.

    Happy birthday to us, happy birthday to us, happy birthday to ussss happy birthday to us.

  4. Yay! Happy Birthday to us all. Can’t wait to see the videos and messages that everyone comes up with. 🙂 Too bad I’m a Limebird–I’d be interested in some of those neat prizes!

    • Yay 😀 Me neither, I’m sure they’re going to be great. Haha, Kate you can have the SEO help from me whenever, and I might be able to swing a mug your way 😛 Please feel free to get others to enter!

  5. Congrats and bonne continuation, you’re all doing a fab job and what great prizes!

  6. Oh, I am so in.

    And congrats to you, Limebirdians! Your blog is all kinds of wonderful.

  7. You all are beautiful and I agree that Kate does look like Demi more in that pic. Happy Birthday Limebirds!

  8. Yay Happy Blogiversary!! 😀

  9. A happy, happy 1st birthday, Limebird Writers. It has been fun and I look forward to your second year!

  10. That’s very impressive – many congratulations.

  11. We have mugs?! How exciting!

    Happy Birthday everyone! Wooooooo!

  12. HAPPY BIRTHDAY LIMEBIRDS!

    (I know caps are usually frowned upon but that deserves shout! 😉 )

    Cheers!

    • Thanks Richard! No, this definitely is worth the caps! You’re now entered for the additional prizes, do you think you’re going to try for the bundle? 🙂

      • Thinking about it. My slow-moving weekend brain’s got nothing worthwhile yet but if it thinks up something good I’ll give it a go. I’m really regretting my procrastination of past years and that my story was further along than it is. I could use any one of those services eventually but in the meantime, I’m sure I’ll think of something. Guest post might be interesting. 🙂 Then again it wouldn’t be too early for a book cover. Choices, Choices! 😉

      • Awesome, well you’ve got a month to enter something, so get that brain working! 🙂

        Haha, well if you won, you can pick and choose which services you would like to take us up on!

  13. Happy birthday and congrats on such a wildly successful adventure in blogging! 🙂

  14. Happy first birthday! I only started following on Friday, woo, but this looks awesome!

  15. Happy Birthday, one and all! Those are some totally awesome prizes, so I may just have to get creative somehow! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for Year Two! 🙂

  16. Happy Birthday, I’ll try to get something together.

    Jim

  17. Yayy I love this so much! I must admit I’m jealous, that Limebird mug is AMAZING! 😀

  18. Awesome give-aways guys! (spell check doesn’t like “give-aways” is there a better way to write that???).

    Once I’m done with the stoopid school directory for my son’s school, I’ve got to get back into coming over here daily. I missed so much over the summer!

    Any chance of doing a “best of” week at the end of the year or something?

    Oh, and I’ve got an idea for the photo entry… must go buy limes…

  19. Beth, with those prizes, you are really spoiling our readership! How rubbish my sign compared with all the other ace ones?? Cannot rightly believe our stats! Mother Mary! Just wish I could think of something I could have added for the birthday giveaway… I’m really good at hugs. But the winner would have to live near me to claim said prize! Bad times. Will think of something for another one… we’ll have to do an Xmas one too to thank our loyal readership. Amazeballs!!! Beth and the LB’s, you/we rock! x

    • Haha! I think they deserve them! 🙂 Oh no, I liked your sign! I just had too much time on my hands! 😛 I know, it’s awesome and right, I’ll package you up and send you to the winner for hugs! xx

  20. This is so inspiring. My numbers are nowhere near yours, but I love the fact that I might get there one day!

  21. Happy Birthday. Wow, a year already. Great idea for the giveaway. I might see if I can rustle something together. Keep up the great work 🙂

  22. All this and I only need to comment?

    Well then…comment.

    Congratulations on successfully making it through year one. Now it’s on to the terrible twos. Won’t that be fun. 😉

    • Haha, yes you do! However, if you would like to enter for the main prize of Limebird Goodies, we’re just asking for a dash of creativity, which I know you have! 😛

      Terrible twos? Us? Never!

  23. Holy Giveaway that’s a ton of prizes! I heard about this on Twitter and had to check it out. I’m so glad I did. You should thank @rebeccaberto since she’s the one who tweeted about it 🙂 Happy one year and here’s to many more!

    • Hi Nadia!

      Thank you and welcome to Limebird! 🙂 Ah yes, Rebecca is a long standing awesome friend of ours! Do you fancy entering for the main part of the prize?? We’re now following here and Twitter! LimebirdBeth

      • Hello!

        Thank you very much! I’ve noticed the follows and they’re greatly appreciated. As for entering, I am considering it, but I probably won’t. My manuscript is nowhere near finished and as amazing as the opportunity would be, I think it’d be more fair to give someone else that chance 🙂

      • You’re welcome! 🙂

        Well, you don’t have to take us up on all of the prizes right now. You could save the ones for the manuscript for when you’re finished, it can all be arranged with Kate and Vanessa. Obviously, it’s up to you, but don’t let that put you off! 🙂 Beth

      • I never thought of that. That would be…super great actually 😀 I’m definitely reconsidering my decision now. Thank you for that. I guess I have a new project to start on in the morning…afternoon…evening…whenever I get up. Lol.

      • Fantastic! Really looking forward to seeing your entry and nice to meet you! 🙂 Beth

      • Thank you! It’s nice to meet you too, Beth.

  24. Wow! Happy birthday guys! ^_^ I don’t think I’m going to be able to enter the comp *sigh* but very, very happy birthday to you all!

  25. happy happy happy birthday to you lovely limers.

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

