100 Word Stories – ‘I woke with another headache’

by limebirdwriters

*happy dance* for Friday! Anyone got any nice plans? Anyways, every Friday here at Limebird Writers, we take part in a challenge set by Julia’s Place. The challenge is to write a 100 word story using a prompt. This week the prompt is ”I woke with another headache’. If you would like to take part, scroll down to the bottom for the rules!

100 word challenge

This week is myself and LimebirdVanessa taking part!

LimebirdBeth

I woke with another headache, my mouth like sandpaper and a bead of sweat trickling down my forehead. Slowly I prised my eyes open, and dragged myself up. Waking up like this was becoming more frequent, but I was warned it would be hard to control in the beginning. Walking through the house, my ears pricked at a noise behind the door.

I pushed it open and saw her. A girl sat gagged, her hands tied and eyes widening at the sight of me. I could hear her blood pulsing through her veins and could feel the transformation start again.

Limebird Vanessa

Once upon a time, there was a little green goblin called Hulk. This was an unfortunate name as he was quite the most cowardly of goblins you ever met. Whenever there was mischievousness to be gotten up to, Hulk would have an excuse. “I woke with another headache” he would say. Oh my! Did you ever hear of such a thing? A goblin that didn’t like mischievousness? The goblin elders had had quite enough. One night they crept into his room. “We’ll show you what a headache is”, they whispered, and bopped him so hard on the head that for Hulk, it really was…The end.

 

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

45 Responses to “100 Word Stories – ‘I woke with another headache’”

  1. Love yours Beth! Quite a different take we both took…if you know what I mean!

    This week, before I even saw the prompt, I had decided that I wanted to write something which would start with ‘Once upon a time’, and finish with ‘The end’. So I then had to try and make it work within that – it was fun! 🙂

    • Yes, I always seem to go dark. I need to try something funny sometime! Ohh that sounds like more of a challenge! Good plan.

      I really enjoyed yours, felt like a children’s story. I’m thinking of going that way for NaNo… I must be mad!

  2. Vanessa, I do love that yours is a complete story with a beginning, middle and end. Very satisfying! With Beth’s I find myself asking so many questions – Warned by whom? Beginning of what? Why is there a gagged girl in your house? What are your transforming into and from what?! It saddens me that I may never know 😦

    • Eep! Sorry about that. Well if I’m honest.. I don’t exactly know all of the answers to those questions, so I can’t answer them! It’s just going to have to remain a mystery….

      • But as writers we are all uniquely qualified to imagine answers to those questions, right? 🙂

      • Exactly!

      • I love being forced to question things so no problems here, m’lady. Neeks is quite right that we, as writers are uniquely qualified to imagine between the lines, but I’m more than happy to force unqualified, hapless civilians to use their imagination at any opportunity (although tying them up, gagging them and setting a werewolf on them might be going a step too far)!

    • Thank you lordscree. I was going to say something about being glad that I satisfied you, but that sounds a bit wrong! Hehe. But yes, sometimes with these 100 words stories, mine has felt more like an excerpt from a story, so I wanted to do a definitely complete one this time.

      • It does a bit, haha, so it’s probably just as well you didn’t say that or people might start talking. Beth’s right in that yours feels like a children’s story… right until the end, when you feel a sudden need to put your hands over your child’s eyes while they innocently ask “What happened, Daddy? Why isn’t Hulk moving any more?”

  3. Wow, well whether complete or leaving us with lots of questions, both Beth and Vanessa did great jobs! I know I don’t want to get anywhere near the characters you described in these short bits! 🙂

  4. What are the rules for these things? Is it 100 words for the whole post, including the prompt, or 100 words, plus the prompt (i.e. in this case 105 words)? I notice that Beth and Vanessa have covered all possible combinations… I have a 100 word and a 105 word version of my attempt and I’m trying to decide which one to post 🙂

    • Sometimes she specifies that it should be 100 words plus the number of prompt words, but sometimes the prompt is just a prompt and the words of it don’t actually have to be included, and therefore the total should probably be 100 words, whether or not the prompt words are included. I think that was probably the case here, so I might actually be the one who was naughty and didn’t do it exactly right this week! *gasp*. But seriously lordscree, do you have nothing better to do on a Friday night than count the words in mine and Beth’s stories?! 😉

    • Well I see from your story lordscree that you DO have better things to do on a Friday night! 😉

  5. Both Great Stories! Beth, your went in a direction so far from my expectations that I had to re-read it to be sure I had it right. Excellent story. And Vanessa, I can see you writing a children’s book about Little Hulk, The Goblin Who ….. It would be a great book. Good job, both of you!

  6. Ooh, I feel the pain. I have way too many headaches to want to read more! 😉

  7. Two unique takes both with supernatural elements. 🙂 Very cool!

  8. I love them both! Beth I love the dark side to this one! I get a vampire feeling from it. Vanessa I love the once upon a time, poor hulk!

  9. Well done! I like this writing challenge. In fact…I’m in! *grin*

  10. Two for the price of one 😉 ! LimebirdBeth, an interesting take on the troubles of a young vampire (am I right?), and LimebirdVanessa, wonderfully silly – HulkSmash! (Or should that be smash Hulk?)

  11. Beth, great writing, and oh so suspenseful, I am intrigued by what kind of transformation this person is going through! All kinds of eerie things come to mind.

    Vanessa, your goblin tale is delightful! So sorry he came to “the end” but it was so very clever how you did that. Fun!

  12. I love the different takes the two of you took with this prompt.
    Beth – so moody, with just the right amount of horror. Nothing needs to be explained in detail, though the reader instantly knows what’s in store for both narrator and victim. Brr!
    Vanessa – I giggled at your children’s book-like description of Hulk (the “Oh, my!” was great!) and his disposition, though the ending is quite sad. Still, I’d like to see this one done with illustrations! 🙂

    Well done, Limebirds! 😀

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)