NaNoWriMo 2012 – It’s All Over

by limebirdwriters

So, it’s the beginning of December and writers all over the land will be wiping their brows and breathing a huge sigh of relief, as NaNoWriMo 2012 has finished.

Winner-180x180

Congratulations to LimebirdKate who was the first Limebird to pass the 50,000 word barrier, closely followed by myself, Dennis, Cat, Neeks, Vanessa and Ster. Well done also to all of the friends of the Limebirds who also won, there are too many to list here but a little special thanks to LordScree for being my sprinting buddy and Mayumi who didn’t give up.

Even those who didn’t reach that 50,000 milestone, you’ve still got a chunk of a story written, and there’s always next year where you can give it another go. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks to LimebirdKate who blogged her NaNoWriMo journey! If you would like to catch up on these, they are here:

Pre NaNo

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

Week 4

Week 5

I don’t know about you, but I found this year really hard. Firstly I started off my story (completely pantsed) and something just wasn’t clicking. I swiftly realised that the tense wasn’t right, so I switched from third to first, and that seemed to help. Then I found that my story just wasn’t for me, I needed more planning for such a huge genre swap and pantsing just wasn’t cutting the mustard. So I did something unfounded in NaNo world… I became a REBEL. I switched my story half way. I guess it is cheating in a sense, but I still wrote 50,000 words, but just in two stories rather than one.

I would love to hear your NaNo stories below and also if you could cast your vote in the poll!

So, next year anyone?

Beth x

33 Comments to “NaNoWriMo 2012 – It’s All Over”

  1. Woot!! Congrats y’all!! I failed really early on, I don’t even know what happened! I was out of town when it began and started behind then I lost a couple of days here and there and then I started freaking myself out being so behind and my story was just feelin off and then I started avoiding all things Nano because I failed so hard lol! Ah well I think now that the pressure is off I’ll go back to working on it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. So, I didn’t participate this year, but I hope to next year. I’m warming up to the idea with my own little challenge – FAD or Five (hundred) a Day. 31,000 words from Dec 1 to Jan 31… but it’s less scary if it’s only 500 a day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congrats to all you who finished!

  3. Thanks for the shout-out, Beth! I don’t think I would have even tried to make it to the finish line without the support of the Limebirds. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I chose “Okay – neither easy or hard” because, while my start felt rough, by the end, I did get into my story enough to be excited about writing it every day. I wish there were an easy way to share it, too, with folks who are interested. I’ll have to look into that. And, I’d love to see what others did! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Congrats to all Limebird writers! I too found NaNo 2012 hard, but I did complete it after pulling a literal all-nighter, and I reached the 50K winning word count in the wee morning hours of November 30th! Whew! And I “pants” it as well, but found my fingers to cooperate with my muse and brain. Everything worked out! Now, it’s just time to actually FINISH the book! How many of you have actually finished it?

  5. Congratulations to all of you who entered whether you hit the 50,000 mark or not – well done.

  6. Congratulations to each of you! Now I’ve participated, I know how hard it is!

  7. I didn’t take part and probably won’t. Too much pressure. I’m pretty self motivated but have to do things on a schedule that allows for flexibility. Illness has a way of making you humble about your projects–at least your realistic deadlines. But I admire and congratulate everyone who took on this challenge, whether they completed it or not! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Congratulations to everyone who tried, everyone who thought about it (because that was me the past few years) and of course, all of those who won. It’s a big undertaking, so many things can interrupt the flow of words. So many things! I got the flu the last week of nano, ugh! I even managed to miss 4 or 5 days of writing altogether.
    I just kept going at it. That was my advice to others too, not knowing if any of us would finish, or not, just keep plugging along because one thing is for sure, if we quit then we certainly wouldn’t finish.
    My frame of mind was this, I’ve never written a real novel before and even if I don’t finish, I’m writing one now!

  9. I’m so glad I did it because, if nothing else, it made me see that I do have it in me to write a novel. Congrats to everyone!

  10. Congratulations to all who hit 50,000 and those who gave it your best shot. Maybe next year for me. If I have an idea and other books aren’t pressing for the attention, I just might give it a try. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. First couple of weeks I was on par, then dropped back a bit thinking I’ll never catch up. Took advantage of a newly purchased laptop with more than 10 minutes battery life, and a day off to take my daughter to the orthodontists. I was challenging but a good experience. I discovered that I can actually write without editing immediately.

  12. Well done to all! I’ve just blogged about mine on my own blog, because it was too ‘oh look at me aren’t I great?’ for LBW! That is how proud I was. I was sick twice, plus ongoing long term illnesses, put in hours of overtime at work and was stressed – but I did it. I just can’t believe how much I had to put up with, as well as being a Mum and all the other day to day stuff too. Shows that you can pull it out the bag if you go for it ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats to all! Mwah! x

  13. wow, quite the accomplishment. My sister probably SPOKE 50,000 words this week, but I doubt that I could write that many words in a year…nice blog you have here, think I will have a look around. feel free to cruise mine as well

  14. Congrats to the team! I kept a close eye with how I was doing compared to you guys. Naturally I clicked I sailed through it because that’s just the kind of ego I have. ๐Ÿ™‚

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

