100 Word Story – …you said you’d do WHAT?….

by limebirdwriters

Hurray for Fridays! It’s been a long week here, at least for me! So, we haven’t done these for a while, b ut we’re back into doing the 100 world story challenges from Julia’s Place. The challenge is to write a 100 word story using a prompt. This week the prompt is ”…you said you’d do WHAT?….” If you would like to take part, scroll down to the bottom for the rules!

100 word challenge

This week we have myself, LimebirdCat, LimebirdNeeks, LimebirdRaven and LimebirdVanessa taking part.

LimebirdBeth

“You said you’d do WHAT?” I felt myself shouting.

“It’s just a loan until she gets paid, it’s no big deal Zo”

“It is a big deal Kyle, seriously, why can’t you see that she’s taking advantage of you?”

“She isn’t. I love her you know, I wish you two would get along. ”

“You know she hates me right?”

“Don’t be stupid, she doesn’t hate you, you’re my best friend. It seems like you’re the one with the problem.”

“Whatever.”

“You can be really immature sometimes Zoe.”

As he walked away, I could feel my stomach churning. Why couldn’t he love me instead.

LimebirdCat

The telling curvature of the red, yielding flesh at its head was simply too much for Gloria. The very thought of touching it, caressing it brought her out in a blush the same colour of what she beheld.

“You said you’d do WHAT? It’s the smallest one!” interjected Stanley, appearing at her side.

“I can’t help myself, Stan” she tried to explain, fanning herself in vain with the winner’s rosette.

“But I simply can’t resist a good radish”

With that, she delicately slipped the round, purple material of the first prize rosette under the small, unassuming vegetable.

“- And it’s not always size that matters”

LimebirdNeeks

“You said you’d do what??”  I couldn’t believe my ears.  I had to sit down I was laughing so hard.  My husband looked so confused.

“I didn’t say I’d do it, I said we’d do it!” He said, pleading.
“Meaning I’d do it while you play golf.”

He shook his head.  “No I won‘t.”
I nodded.  “You’re right about that, have you forgotten that I’m leaving next Friday?  I’m not going to be here.”

He looked stricken.  I patted his back as I walked past.
“So 16 five year olds will be here Saturday for a sleep-over party!  Aren’t you just the best daddy ever?”

LimebirdRaven

“How was school today, sweetheart?”

“Fine, Mom.  How was your day?”

“It was okay.  I got your favorite dinner for tonight while I was at the grocery store.”

“You’re kidding!  Roast beast with Who-pudding?”

Mom laughs, “No sweetheart.  You’ve been reading too much Dr. Seuss!  I got you perrogies with ketchup , lasagna with soy meat and all the fixins for your favorite salad.”

Gina jumps up and down with excitement and hugs her mom.  “Thanks so much! Can I invite Tim over?  I told him we could get married tonight after dinner.”

“I’m sorry. You said you’d do WHAT?”

LimebirdVanessa

“You said you’d do WHAT?”

“Have him.”

“Without consulting me?”

“She needed a decision quickly.”

“We have no room for a dog Michael!”

“It’s only a puppy.”

“Puppies grow into dogs.”

“I’m not stupid.”

“You are if you think it’s ok to offer a home to a dog without consulting your wife!”

“He’s very cute.”

“I don’t care how cute he is, he’s not coming here…he’s already here isn’t he.”

Michael left the room and returned with a wriggling ball of fluff. “Look at him Jen.”

“Why?”

“Please.”

“I’m not going to change my…oh…oh my…well, I suppose…let’s call him Bruno!”

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

11 Comments to “100 Word Story – …you said you’d do WHAT?….”

  1. Great stories ladies! I get such a kick out of all the wildly different ideas that we get for these 🙂

  2. Excellent work, everyone! It’s nice to see you back at these. 🙂

  3. LOL. :o) Birds can’t be allowed to have all the fun. I’ve posted mine to my blog:
    http://jilannehoffmann.com/2013/01/11/domestic-tranquility/
    and just entered it on Julia’s Place.

  4. Great stories y’all! Beth….ugh I hope we’ve all felt that way so we can cry together,I know I sure have! Cat, cracking me up! Neeks, uh oh, poor dad! Raven….I think I’d rather have the roast beast and Who-pudding for sure! Vanessa, reminds me when I was in high school my sister came home with a cat….now my mom IS a crazy cat lady and I was so mad because we had enough blasted cats as it was! Then I saw the darn thing and fell in love. Darn animals, they get you every time!

    • LOL! Laura, you’re probably right, but the 6 year old in a vegetarian family had to have weird taste *grin*…

      Neeks…I’m a crazy cat lady too but I swear I had that same conversation 4 months ago when Miko brought home a kitten. I kept swearing it was just temporary until we found him a home. Then I got carted off for 3 weeks to work out of town and when I came back he just snuggled all over me. Yeah, he makes 9 again for us. 9 indoor cats….nuff said.

    • Thanks Laura! I know, I felt so sorry for her! Aw 😦

  5. Interesting, the way most of us went with all-dialogue or mostly-dialogue entries. I love seeing when minds think alike (or not) because of these prompts. 🙂

    I like the slow but inevitable reveal in Beth’s, and the quiet decisiveness of the narrator in Cat’s. Yours had me giggling, Neeks (poor poppa…though he rather deserves it a bit, I think!); I grinned at Raven’s, too – somehow, I picture Gina a very young girl making that bold pronouncement (my mother laughs every time she recalls me announcing I’d met the boy I wanted to marry after my first day of kindergarten). And Vanessa’s certainly captures the beginning of that slippery pet slope.

    Well done, Limebirds! So happy to see you taking part in these, again! 😀

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

