The Year of Our Publication!

by Neeks

2013. I haven’t seen any others on here about it, so I’m going to jump in. You know, I’ve never worried very much about what my future held, always been satisfied to live in the moment and be happy with what I have. Sure I could really enjoy a nicer car, but the one I have works fine and gets me where I need to go (my mother would step in here and speak about people with lack of motivation and zero ambition but I digress – or I guess she would…lol).

After trying and completing NaNoWriMo for the first time (without cheating at all – I was afraid I would) I’m suddenly left with a novel. Yes, a novel (I’m still trying to convince myself). I’ve been writing feature articles for The Valdosta Magazine for 3 years now. I wrote a lot of poetry when I was young, and published some bit of it back then.  Those roots call out to me often. What if, this year, I decided to publish something in addition to a magazine article? Like, some poetry somewhere, or a short story?

I entered a few contests last year, and didn’t even get rejection letters (expected). I did get a couple of form emails, so there was at least some response in a few cases (appreciated). It was like sending out little tips of my fingers and waiting for someone to chop them off (they did). Courage or insanity one, compels me to try again.

Let us all resolve to make 2013 “The Year of our Publication.” Let’s all commit ourselves (those that want to of course) to getting one thing published this year, be it a poem, article, short story, novel, script or even a jingle or an advertisement!  Hey, if December 31st rolls around and you haven’t published yet we’ll even take a want ad!  If it’s in print somewhere we’ll count it!  Every single one of us. Let’s support the hell out of each other, pump our fists, kick each other in the behind when it’s needed, encourage one another when we can and:

Let’s get published!

43 Comments to “The Year of Our Publication!”

  1. Sounds like a great idea to me! It fits right in with my writing goal this year for my WIPs. 🙂

  2. A nice, positive post! Great start to the morning.

  3. I’d just like to get my novel in front of an agent sometime during the summer. 🙂

    Best wishes, everyone!

  4. Thanks for sending out the call to the starting post! Just got to make sure my tank is full so I don’t run out of gas before the finish line. :o)

  5. YES! We must! I need to send out to more competitions and submission calls for sure. I got my feet wet with it at the end of last year, and got my fair share of no-replies. Hmph! This year, they will beat down my door, goshdarnit!

  6. Awesome post, Neeks. I love how you’re rallying everyone together to strive toward their own dreams and support each other. I need to get back on the query horse for my first novel and I also need to submit my short story to more competitions this year. I wish all of us good luck! 🙂

  7. Ace post Neeks, as per usual! Get the blummin’ novel out there, you are very, very talented! x

  8. Yes! A bit of motivation, excellent!
    Can I cheat and get an article in the magazine I (should) contribute to (more often)? Will that count?
    Nah, that’d be the easy way out.
    No. I. Must. Work. On. Novel.

  9. Awesome post Neeks, love the positivity of this! 😀 * does happy dance *

    * waits to see what link you do for me… * 😛

  10. This is a great plan. I’ve got two WIPs. Need to progress at LEAST one of them. 🙂

  11. I love the spirit Neeks!

  12. Definitely have to get my non-fiction book out to publishers! It’s not finished yet, but luckily with non-fiction you don’t have to have finished it before you can submit a couple of sample chapters. Yay for all of us! 🙂

  13. That sounds great! I have a short story out that was far more popular than I realized, and I’ve been asked by several friends to add to it, so I started that last week. I also would like to self-pub some non-fiction this year. Good luck everyone!!!

  14. Continue to live in the moment – it’s the only way to get 100% out of life 🙂

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

