Author Interview – Rebecca Berto (Novel Girl)

by limebirdwriters

Happy Merry Friday everyone! Today we have an awesome treat in the form of an interview with Rebecca Berto, author of ‘PRECISE’.

Precise

Blurb

Katie Anselin is a newlywed and hubby, Paul, is her life. He’s the only one who knows her family’s history and makes her finally feel happy—until the day she discovers she’s fallen pregnant.

By the time Katie started school, she’d been taught that she was the cause of her mother, Rochelle’s miscarriages. See, Katie has grown up knowing she shouldn’t be happy when she’s caused her mom so much pain.

Still, Katie can’t imagine killing the life growing inside her, which occurs at the same time Rochelle starts skipping her medication. Hell hath no fury like Rochelle with a vengeance to make Katie pay for ruining her life.

In Rochelle’s quest for power, Katie and Paul’s baby is the pawn.

So, here it is.. Enjoy!

Hi Rebecca! Let’s break the ice..how are you?

I’m excited to be on Limebird Writers! I’ve been with you guys since inception. Now, come on, let’s answer real questions.

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Chocolate. Wait. I don’t want just that.

Here’s what happened: Rebecca freaks out. Rebecca thinks of chocolate to calm her. Rebecca figures instincts are usually (never for her) correct.

So, I’ll sit on my instinctual answer. I’d be happy to die of pure chocolate poisoning.

Would you rather fight one horse sized duck or a hundred duck sized horses?

I feel very intelligent by answering: the latter. Battling a hundred duck-sized horses
means I may be able to squish them since they wouldn’t be flying away and their legs
would be too tiny to out run me.

(Muahaha)

My imagination really runs wayyy too wild.

What’s one fact about you that not many people know?

There are two super secrets (lots more but they may not be fit for a post like this) and one I am proud to announce is:

I used to be a State-level swimmer. In butterfly and backstroke I was third best in my State, Victoria (Australia). I also used to be able to swim 50m freestyle in 31.5 seconds.

Then I grew up and got lazy.

Ok, now that we know you a bit better, let’s get down to business…

What? Noooo! *skulks up to Beth dragging feet* Okay, then.

Your book PRECISE, which I have read and loved by the way, centres on a tempestuous mother-daughter relationship. How did you come up with the idea for this story?

I’d written book two, Pulling Me Under, and finished it ages ago and wanted a way to start a following with my readers for that book. I decided there is so much caBLAMO going on in Pulling Me Under, a prequel to that story would be a nice bite-sized read (Precise is 20,000-words / 75 pages).

Not only that, but I wanted to learn more about the mother figure myself. Rochelle, the mother in Precise, has mental issues she doesn’t want to admit to. Hence, this makes for a painful experience to read about her poor daughter, Katie (the main character) who cops the brunt of her psychosis.

This book was FUN to write. I’m not a sicko, but it felt incredible to write such powerful stuff in one story.

Where did the name PRECISE come from?

LOVE this question. Thanks for asking.

Precise came to me simply for the reason of Rochelle (the evil mother) tries to live a high-class, model life that people aspire to but inside she’s lost it, her daughter hates her, and she isn’t happy at all. Everything that she has control over is “precise” to the “t” but the non-material aspects in life that matter.

Do you think you share any of the same characteristics as your protagonist Katie?

Argh, major personal exposure. Okay, here goes:

  • Low self-confidence and esteem
  • Like to be the quiet one
  • Have a profound love to care more about the love of my life than myself

Is that enough undressing of my qualities, BETH? (Yep… 🙂 B)

The book is a novelette, a lot shorter than a standard novel, was it difficult getting everything you wanted into it?

I knew this story would be short when I began. I had ideas for what I wanted to happen so once I started plotting, I realized—to my great shock!—that it was really simple to write this novelette/novella.

I didn’t have an epic story to tell, spanning hundreds of pages. I had a little story to tell about shocking, abusive things that happened to Katie in a simple format. Any longer and it would have felt fake.

Precise is a small story with the heartbreak size of a novel inside this little book.

We did a cover reveal of PRECISE in October , what do you think makes
a great cover and how important are they?

  •  Balance—most authors don’t study visual design, but spacing out the image/s and text on the cover is crucial to NOT ending up with a visual mushcake of a cover. Enter cover designer!
  • One aspect—yes a novel might be about a love story and the cute necklace the two best friends share, and about the shocking past that occurs to blah, blah, blah. Focus on one message you want the viewer to grasp. Or else … you guessed it = visual mushcake.

Who was your favourite character to write in the book?

One? It’s so hard!

But like my “chocolate” answer, the first one that came to mind is Rochelle. You’ll see, my dear future readers. She is 50 shades of cRaZy!

How would you describe your style of writing in one sentence?

Picture dipping your head back, the wind catching your skin and freeing every other thought from your mind but this place you’re in, picture your heart skipping and pumping in alternate patterns, and picture listening to music that takes you away.

That’s the feeling I get from my writing once I take a break and come back to it with
the eyes of a “reader”.

What do you think made you want to become an author?

Childhood books. I’ve apparently been writing stories since I was five or so. I can’t tell you accurately what was my inspiration from my five-year-old brain, but I’ve wanted people to be swept off their feet by the power of my words since ever.

That’s what I remember.

What are you currently working on? Can we expect a similar genre from you, or will your next book be something different?

Pulling Me Under will definitely be released this year (2013), but my current working project is a New Adult Contemporary Romance title, Drowning in You.

Reason: I’ve been reading so many sexy/romance novels that I think some of the sexiness seeped into my writing brain. This one will be angsty, sexy, hot, sad, heart-breaking. 🙂

What’s your top tip for anyone looking to publish their book this year?

When you think you’re ready? Keep writing and reading. Don’t just read novels, or writing guides, but read blogs and book reviews. << Those last two are crucial. See what readers love about their favourite novels and what they hate. Do you do these in your manuscript?

Awareness = great writing and happy reading! (Don’t make mistakes that are already out there.)

Finally, why should our readers click the links below and buy your book PRECISE now?

It’s a story of hope for anyone and everyone who’s been abused or belittled, or told they’re not worthy.

Links:

Amazon (mobi)
Barnes & Noble (ePub)
Smashwords (all formats)
Kobo (ePub)
iTunes (ePub)
Goodreads

Rebecca’s Blog

If you’d like to find out details of Rebecca’s next release, Drowning in You, AToMR tours are organising a cover reveal. Sign up and they’ll send you all the info in a quick, easy-to-use email. Then you post on the day. Simple!

Link here. 

Also, it’s Rebecca’s birthday today! Happy Happy Birthday to you from all of the Limebird Writers!

birthday card

25 Responses to “Author Interview – Rebecca Berto (Novel Girl)”

  1. Thank you for your wisdom. I mean beauty. I mean … *takes pipe from mouth*

    Thanks for the interview!

  2. Great interview! I think you meant to put in an actual date where it says [date], but I could be wrong 🙂

  3. I only know of Rebecca through her Twitter, but this interview just solidifies she’s not someone simply out to make a dollar – she’s really engaged about story and storytelling as both an art and a craft. Nice interview!

  4. Awesome interview ladies 🙂 Had to have a giggle at the imagined sight of Rebecca fighting 1 horse sized duck or 100 duck sized horses 😀
    For people who have not read Rebecca’s “Precise” – go and download it to your favourite e-reader now!
    Can’t wait for your other releases Rebecca! x

  5. Brilliant interview but didn’t Rebecca get hurt battling with these weird horses and ducks? Ha Ha

  6. Happy Birthday and best of luck with your novel sales 🙂

  7. I love author interviews, especially fun ones like this with random questions thrown in rather than the predictable ones. Happy birthday Rebecca, and I’ll add your book to my reading list! 🙂

  8. Great interview. Loved the questions and the answers. 🙂

Trackbacks

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

