100 Word Stories – Picture Prompt

by limebirdwriters

It’s Friiiddayyyyyy, and as always we’re taking part in the 100 word story challenges set by Julias Place. This week the prompt is a picture(see below) . If you want to do your own 100 story, then scroll down to the bottom for more information. 🙂

100 word challenge

grancanon

This week we have just one brave Limebird taking part, the wonderful LimebirdNeeks!

LimebirdNeeks

I can’t go any further.  I took 3 steps and looked down.  A wave of vertigo made my head swim.  My knees buckled and it was all I could do to get back inside.  Don’t look at me like that honey.  Mama wants to go but I just can’t.  I’m going to be sick.

I look again.  The thought of walking out there sets off all the nerve endings in my arms and legs with an electric shock.  I am shaking and perspiring.  Go with Grandma, I’ll wait for you here, and I die until you both make it back.

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

11 Comments to “100 Word Stories – Picture Prompt”

  1. I think you’ve done a great job of describing how I’d feel in a setting like that. I’m getting dizzy just thinking about it!

  2. It won’t let me like the post, but I do like it!! *hugs*

  3. Nice work, Neeks! I really like how you capture the narrator’s fear with the line I die until you both make it back. That is certainly evocative of such terror!

  4. This is really well-done, Neeks. You’ve captured the soul of acrophobia. 😎

  5. You did a great job of capturing the feeling! I didn’t get a change to even look at the prompt this week (or I guess last week now!), so this was my first time seeing it.

  6. Oh! I’m terrified by heights, so I think you nailed this. 🙂

  7. I’m like Vanessa, I was a bad bad pupil last week and didn’t even look :-O This is amazing Neeks, very chilling.

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

