Why Not? Branching Out

by LimebirdRaven

I got given a wonderful opportunity not too long ago.  An amazing writerly type friend of mine is getting the rights back on a short story that had been published in an anthology, and she wants to republish it. She was gracious enough to let me take a peek at the piece, and it was my pleasure and privilege to edit it!  When she republishes the story, it will be much longer and I will be credited for the work I did.

Editing for friends has become a hobby of mine and I enjoyed the work on this piece so much that I found a place to do some freelance editing.  I simply need a sample of my edits to submit in order to apply, and as I enjoy editing as much as I enjoy writing (so long as it’s not my own work!!) , I think it’s time to branch out and try something new – Why not?

PS – Since I wrote this entry, another friend has a book she wants to submit to agents this summer and she is in need of an editor, so I started working on that piece the other day.  This one is a 60k word YA novel and I am totally in love with the book!  The first time I beta read it I completely forgot I was supposed to be doing something else, it was so good!

What is something you can branch out with?  How can you challenge yourself this week?

Blessings,

Raven

19 Comments to “Why Not? Branching Out”

  1. I’m challenging myself this week at work, by writing 5 articles on a subject I have absolutely no idea about. It’s going to be a tough one! B

    • That is a tough one, but I know you can do it! I recently read a book where someone spends about 5-6 hours on research and then writes a 10-12k word e-book in 72 hours. She’s got quite a few out there and she’s making good money at it! Good luck!!

  2. Congratulations, Raven. Editing for friends is a great place to start building a clientele.

    • Thanks! I really am enjoying it. The editing position contacted me back to let me know they’d be making a decision in about a week.

  3. My challenge is to get 8 straight hours of sleep. Gaah.

  4. I enjoy editing a little here and there as well!

  5. I hope the new line works out, fingers crossed!

    I have done a lot of narrations over the past few years (both for podcasts and for my own site) and I recently branched out to offer my services as a narrator and voice artist.

    I have set up a website, and anyone who is interested can listen to my demo reel at http://www.dramaticvoice.biz/#/demo-reel-1/4572736000

    Also, for a limited time, I am offering 25% off the usual rates; PLUS, if you mention Limebird Writers, I will donate a further 25% here.

  6. Editors are just as important to stories as writers, Raven. Congratulations on finding a new(?) calling!

    If you’ve got a site with rates and whatnot, do you think you’d share it, here? I’m looking for some editing help, too, and I’d love to support a Limebird. 🙂

    • Mayumi-H,

      Thanks! I don’t have a site. Right now it’s just a hobby. I haven’t even thought about freelancing or charging anybody. Message me when you need something and I’ll let you know my availability.

  7. Way to go! Good luck with the editing. We all need good editors 🙂

  8. Good luck with the editing!

  9. I agree that editing someone else’s work is way more fun than editing your own! Hope it goes well for you 🙂

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

