100 Word Story – “….beneath the surface…”

by limebirdwriters

It’s Friiiddayyyyyy, Fridayyy gotta get down on Fridayyyy. Ok sorry, I’ll stop now. Anyways, as always we’re taking part in the 100 word story challenges set by Julias Place. This week the prompt is ….beneath the surface…  If you want to do your own 100 story, then scroll down to the bottom for more information. 🙂 Bonus points if you know where my character name is from.

100 word challenge

This week we have myself and LimebirdRaven taking part.

LimebirdBeth

As was her routine nowadays, Nerissa sat perched on a rock looking longingly at the other girls playing and laughing. She desperately wanted to join them but no matter how hard she tried she still didn’t fit in. Not welcome in her own community because of her father, and not welcome in their community because of her mother.

Sighing, she pushed herself off the rock, dunked into the water and started to swim. That’s the problem with being a half mermaid, you’re stuck half beneath the surface, and half out.

LimebirdRaven

I wanted to enjoy the sunshine as long as possible before my 8 hour tryst with the keyboard under the fluorescence of the office lighting. I arrived at the office with ten minutes to spare, so I started to sit on the bench in the courtyard and watched the birds.  As I arrived, my stomach gave a severe spasm, leaving me draped across the bench for support.  I was surprised to feel movement beneath the surface of my skin, so I lifted my top to look.  Something large was protruding from my stomach.  When my skin split open, I passed out.

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

16 Comments to “100 Word Story – “….beneath the surface…””

  1. I was thinking the only Narissa I know is from Enchanted – perhaps your story is when she was little. The alienation from other girls and not “fitting in” pushed her into becoming an evil witch? Although you said Nerissa, with an E, and the mermaid bit doesn’t fit… 😀

  2. Loved it Beth, the mermaid was a great twist. Raven – chilling!

  3. Yikes, Raven, what a way to start the day! And a half-mermaid sounds like an interesting creature, Beth!

  4. I like where you both went with this prompt. Surrealism rocks!

  5. Both great stories. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. Beth, I loves me a good mermaid story. 🙂 (Almost wrote one for NaNo a few years ago.) I’m so glad you went this direction, too, as the prompt warrants a telling of creature like this. The extra melancholy of her situation makes for a great character. (Is this Portia’s Nerissa, by the way?) Actually, I’d be curious to see if you went any further with this one. There’s so much possibility in a situation and character set like this, I’d love to know what you’d do! 🙂

    Raven, nice work with that surprise ending. In fact, I really like the way the two of you took the same prompt and started with something sort of similar, but, beneath the surface (ha ha – sorry), went in vastly different directions. Gruesome end to your narrator, though…!

    Thanks for sharing, Limebirds! 🙂

  7. As always y’all are awesome! Beth aww I love it! Raven, thanks for making me check my own stomach just in case something was trying to come out!

    Ya know, I thought Friday was Thursday. I seriously woke up Friday thinking “I better get that story written” then it turns out it was actually Friday even though I thought it was Thursday sooooo WHOOPS!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

