100 Word Stories – “…oh my goodness! I nearly forgot…”

by limebirdwriters

Happity Happity Friday everyone!  Anyways, as always we’re taking part in the 100 word story challenges set by Julias Place. This week the prompt is …oh my goodness! I nearly forgot… If you want to do your own 100 story, then scroll down to the bottom for more information. 🙂 

100 word challenge

This week we have myself and Limebirds Amber, Cat,  Laura, Neeks, Raven and Vanessa taking part.

LimebirdAmber

 ‘There are three, no four, no two things to never forget as a killer. Don’t become emotionally engaged, and don’t forget to remember your lies.”

“What about not getting caught?” I smirked and passed the sugar carafe to him.

“That would be the third rule.” He poured the container into the bitter liquid. I smirked after he took a long drink. “You seem to have forgotten a rule, my love.”

He peered at me, and began to pale. “No…”

After he collapsed, I exclaimed, “I nearly forgot myself,” I smiled. “Keep your ends tied up.

“Rest well, lover.”

LimebirdBeth

Jenny ran her hands over Tom’s football kit, and was sure it felt damp. Just to be sure, she popped it into the tumble dryer for a quick spin ready for his cup match.  She hummed as she folded it and placed it into his bag, just as he pushed open the door into the kitchen. “Just in time” she mused, smiling to herself.

“Oh my goodness! I nearly forgot your lucky socks.” She rushed over to the dryer and picked out the long striped socks. “Good luck today darling.”

“Mum, this is nice, but I’m 32 years old, and Sarah only washed that kit this morning. It was perfectly fine, I only popped in for 2 minutes!”

“Well, it felt damp if you ask me.”

LimebirdCat

The village’s annual ‘Giant Vegetable’ competition was but weeks away, and Agatha was beside herself with excitement.

As she washed and dressed in her tiny, but comfortable rose themed bedroom, she agonised over which cake to serve the Reverend at tea this afternoon.  She had of course ensnared the new young Vicar with an invitation for afternoon tea in order to win favour. He would be the chief judge.

She looked at herself in the mirror, admiring her immaculate lilac dress and neat, tasteful pearls.

“Oh my goodness! I nearly forget…” she exclaimed to herself, reaching down and taking off her thigh high, black PVC boots.

LimebirdLaura

“Oh my goodness, I nearly forgot!” I abandoned my place in line at the store, zipping past funny looks from other shoppers.

Outside I hunted the parking lot for my car. Why can I never remember where I parked?!

Finally I found it, right where I left it, in between a wreck of buggies and an old beat-up truck.

I felt like I hit every red light in town.

When I made it home I turned on the TV to channel 8. I made it! Ellen hadn’t even finished her opening monologue, just in time for the dancing!

“Next time DVR it!” my husband smirked

Humph.

LimebirdNeeks

I had the strangest dream last night.  Everyone was angry, fighting.  Storm clouds surged around us; heavy, dark and ripe with the promise of violence.  I was confused by my lack of ability to defuse the tension.

Oh my goodness! I nearly forgot.  No one had faces and no one spoke-yet anger absolutely pulsed in the air.  Just as the clouds were about to burst, my daughter as a toddler came riding down the street on a tricycle and everything she passed bloomed, blossomed and was soothed.  This is the daughter that didn’t live, not the one that did.  She would have been Johanna Renee.

LimebirdRaven

I watched my husband slamming things around his toolshed.  I hadn’t seen him do that in so long, it almost made me regret telling him I quit my job.  I barely had the words out of my mouth before he stormed out of the living room.  I never even got to explain.

I don’t know what he’s thinking but it can’t be very nice.  He sure isn’t giving me much credit whatever he’s thinking.

I guess I should go talk to him anyways.

“Honey?”

“WHAT!”

“Oh my goodness! I nearly forgot to tell you when you stormed out.  I WON THE LOTTERY!”

LimebirdVanessa

“I think it was a Tuesday. Yes, it was definitely a Tuesday. I remember because Tuesday was the day that Barbara always came round for coffee. It’s funny, she doesn’t come round anymore… I don’t know why. Anyway, she was just leaving, and that’s when I heard it.”

“The voice?”

“Yes.”

“What did it say?”

“I don’t remember. Can I go now? Only it’s Tuesday and Barbara will be coming round for coffee later.”

“What did the voice say Margaret?”

“I don’t remember.”

“I think you do.”

“Oh my goodness! I nearly forgot. Yes, it said… ‘kill Barbara’. Where is Barbara?”

“No further questions your honour.”

Would you like to have a go at a 100 word story? Well, head on over to Julia’s Place for the rules and either add your offering in the comments, or do your own post, but don’t forget to either link back to us or let us know in the comments so we can come and read!

16 Comments to “100 Word Stories – “…oh my goodness! I nearly forgot…””

  1. Ooh lots of us this time, and each with a different take on it! Well done everyone 🙂

  2. Smiles all around. Thank you for lifting me up this Friday morning…oh my goodness, I nearly forgot–to participate. Better head back to the notebook and get to work on my entry.

  3. Excellent stories! I enjoyed reading everyone’s take on the prompt 🙂

  4. What a diverse collection — and I love them all. Vanessa, Neeks, yours tie for top this week — really creative writing! Congrats to all of you.

  5. Great stories. Love the twist in Vanessa’s story, maybe it’s my warped mind 🙂

  6. I always love seeing how the Limebirds approach these prompts. 🙂
    Some wry chuckles from Amber, Beth, and Raven, a hearty laugh from Cat, a (familiar!) sense of annoyance from Laura, and some sobering pauses from Neeks and Vanessa.

    Well done, all!

  7. Loved everyone’s stories so much. xoxox

    PVC boots gave me a good chuckle, I like juxtapositions. Also, Laura, we need to make this a group mission to let you meet Ellen. ❤

    Amber

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

