NYC Midnight Screenwriting Challenge 2013

by limebirdlaura

Quick everyone, grab a seat while I tell you a little tale about the NYC Screenwriting Challenge. The year was 2011. I was simply minding my own business, googling (have we officially accepted “goggling” as a verb yet?) one thing or another when I stumbled upon this little screenwriting competition. At first I was afraid, I was petrified. Oh wait, that’s a song. Anyway, I immediately went to talk my husband into signing up with me. That was it, we were set to compete in our first screenwriting competition!

The contest is broken into three rounds over a two month period. In each round everyone is randomly assigned to a heat, and each heat is randomly assigned a genre, subject, and character. For example – Fantasy, family vacation, a banker. The script must include each element in order to be considered. For the first round you have 8 days to come up with a script that is no more than 12 pages. The top five scripts from each heat in round one progress into round two. A new genre/subject/character assignment is made and you are given 3 days to write a script that is up to 8 pages long. The top five scripts from each heat then progress to the final round where you only have 24 hours to write a script that does not exceed 5 pages. From there, a winner is selected and the top 4 writers win a cash prize.

My husband and I did pretty well at the competition. We wrote as a team and managed to make it to the final round, where we won 3rd place. We were given access to some pretty cool screenwriting websites and a cash prize of $200.

This year the first place prize is $1,500, second place is $500, third is $250 and fourth is $100. Don’t worry, the competition is open to anyone around the world! There is an entry fee of $39 if you register before May 16, 2013 – and there is a link on the site to get $5 off the entry fee if you tweet about it! For more information, head on over to the NYC Midnight website.

The challenge begins on June 14th. Anyone up for having a go at it this year? 

17 Comments to “NYC Midnight Screenwriting Challenge 2013”

  1. Ohh interesting post Laura. Although I think I’d enjoy scriptwriting… I wouldn’t even know where to start! Also, is this USA only?? B

    • It’s open to anyone around the world, just have to calculate time to eastern standard time for all the deadlines.

  2. Well done on 3rd place Laura, that’s awesome!
    It sounds brilliant, I don’t think I’ll be able to enter this year but remind me in 2014!

  3. I’ll stay on the sidelines and cheer you on!

  4. Congrats on your success! I think I know some folks who may be interested in this. Thanks for the tip!

  5. Oh, man! Sounds so fun/interesting/scary. I’d definitely do it if I had the money to sign up. Unfortunately, the economy sucks and I’m recently unemployed. Bleh!
    Have fun! 🙂

  6. Well done for last year! I’ve dabbled in screenwriting, in fact I was runner-up in a short (one scene) screenwriting contest a few years ago, but haven’t done any for a while. i haven’t got time this year, but I’d like to take it back up at some point!

    • I hadn’t done one until this one so I had no idea what to expect. I did another one after this and didn’t do as good but it’s still fun no matter what !

  7. Wow, that’s great, Laura! 😀 Good luck with the contest again this year – sounds like you and your husband make a good creative team. 🙂

  8. Sounds like a lot of fun. I won’t try it this year, but I’ll be rooting you on!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

