LimebirdVanessa Does Charles Dickens…Video Style

by limebirdvanessa

Back in November, LimebirdCat made a video Β on location in North Yorkshire, at the original home of the Bronte sisters. This inspired me to produce my own video because I live close to an area which has a lot of links with Charles Dickens. It only took me six months to get around to it!

I wrote a short script, then called on my friend Stacey Morgan who has her own little film company called Morganic Films, and we filmed it. I started out with the intention of doing a serious piece, then I decided to throw in a bit of comedy, and in the end in was more about the comedy than about Charles Dickens! Still, the little bits of factual information I throw in are true and hopefully you’ll enjoy seeing the location. I give you my Charles Dickens report…

If the embedded version there doesn’t play for you, then you can go direct to it here – http://youtu.be/i2Qizp3QNZw

Are you a fan of Charles Dickens?

Editor’s note – Please do let us know if you like more of these kind of posts/videos and we’ll get some more made! πŸ™‚ Beth

35 Comments to “LimebirdVanessa Does Charles Dickens…Video Style”

  1. I love this Vanessa! So good! Now I feel like I should check my local area to see if any famous author’s lived here….

  2. Vanessa,
    What a great way to start the morning – loved this. The music choice had me smiling before you’d even started. What a great idea to pay homage to some of our fabulous writers in a quirky way.
    More, more, more!
    Laura

  3. I enjoyed this and I enjoyed seeing you, Vanessa (you really are photogenic), and hearing what your voice sounds like, but is there supposed to be so much rushing background noise, or is that the fault of my computer? I tried both the YouTube version and your embedded version, and it’s really difficult to understand what’s being said. I turned up the volume on my speakers as much as I could, but it didn’t really help.

    • Thanks Lorinda. Yes, in the middle section of it, i.e. the second location of the three, there is a lot of sound which is coming from the sea because we were right next to it, and there was wind too, so at least it’s authentic location noise! I thought the sound was ok on the first and third bits though.

  4. This was so much fun! Great idea. If I ever make a book trailer, I want you in it. So lovely and such a beautiful speaking voice. Of course, you many need to alter it a bit when you play the novel’s killer. Would require a little more visciousness…

  5. Vanessa you ROCK! That was awesome and you looked so natural and at ease in front of the camera. I can only do that with hand puppets…

  6. Thanks for the smiles this afternoon! Absolutely these videos are fun, and I’d like to see them as an occasional series. Especially from those of you with great accents. πŸ™‚

  7. Yes! Broadstairs! Great place and nice to see it again.

    I like the video. More, please, more! It gave me a great laugh this morning.

  8. I LOVE Charles Dickens — maybe the best “human-story-teller” of his time. I liked the video, but for the sake of us Americans, or at least for my sake, when you do the next one please speak a little more slowly and a little louder — I missed a lot of the information because of the wind noise through te mike. I loved it, though, and I would enjoy seeing more like it!

    • Yes, sorry about that, I’m pretty quiet at the best of times, so any interference from wind and sea certainly doesn’t help. Stacey kept telling me I needed to speak louder when she was filming, but in my mind I was already! Glad you enjoyed it anyway, next time we’ll find a quieter location so that there is nothing to drown out my voice!

  9. I listened to the video again and I think I got more this time! I do love your accent, Vanessa (yes, we clunky-talking Americans are suckers for good British accents!) And the timbre of your voice is very pleasant, also! The problems could be partly my computer – i don’t have a top-flight sound system. By the way, this time I could hear sea-gulls!

  10. Congrats to you and Stacey on a super job, Vanessa! I loved the humor you put into this – we do so need it in anything regarding Dickens, I think. πŸ˜‰

    Good framing throughout, and nice editing. I liked that these were solid shots, giving emphasis to your presentation rather than any unnecessarily fancy swoops or wipes.

    The only thing I’d suggest for future videos is to mic the speaker specifically. A lavalier mic is small and relatively cheap, and it will produce much better audio than the environment microphone on the camera. I realize this was done for fun, but good audio will only make a strong video that much stronger.

    Very cool. I always like reading Limebird posts, but seeing and hearing you all is a lovely treat. πŸ˜€

    • Thank you, yes, we did have some sound issues. Stacey had an external mic, but it wasn’t working properly so we had to just use the one that was part of the camera. It would have been alright if it wasn’t for the wind and sea!

      • Oh, no! I hate when that happens. πŸ˜›
        One time, our audio tech patched us into the wrong channel feed -for some reason, probably just wasn’t paying attention- and, when we found out in editing, we had to record the entire sequence all over again!

        Your area mic actually pulled things off pretty well, though. The wind and sea sounded a bit rough, but any time you were closer to a building, it worked fine.

        I look forward to more of these! πŸ™‚

  11. Brilliant. Humour is always the best way to go.

    Not enough people enjoy A Tale of Three Cities either. His best work πŸ˜‰

  12. Wonderful video, Vanessa. I thought it was nicely done. Sounds like the mic was the only issue, which should be easily solved. I can’t wait to see what else is up your sleeve!

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

