Limebird Book Club: Review of Kingmaker, Kingbreaker

by limebirdlaura

Stephen King once told me that any good writer must also be a good reader. I know what you’re thinking, “Wow Laura, you’re so lucky you spoke with Stephen King!” I know, I know…

OK so I’ve never actually met Stephen King, but I’ve read his On Writing book enough times that I’m starting to feel like he’s an old friend giving me advice.

This summer I decided to join the Summer Reading Club at my local library. I thought it would be good for me twofold – it’s about a 30 minute walk from my house, and as they say reading is FUNdamental (does anyone remember that lovely line from grade school? It still make me cringe!)

Now that I’m trying to read though as many books as possible this summer, I thought I’d share my reviews with you all, and we can start our own Limebird Book Club! The thing about the Summer Reading is that we’re supposed to try new authors, read different genres we never would have before, get into new series – and hopefully through the summer I can impart some of that onto you all as well.

So without further ado – I give you my review of not only one, but the two books that make up the Kingmaker, Kingbreaker series by Karen MillerThe Innocent Mage, and The Awakened Mage (also known as Innocence Lost).

innocentmageawakekend

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

600 years prior to the events in these novels, there was an epic battle between the good – Barl, and the bad – Morg. Now the Kingdom of Lur lives in harmony and balance, the Doranen people are full of magic and the King is the WeatherWorker controlling the weather which fuels the magic wall that Barl put up to protect the kingdom from the evil Morg. The Olken people are forbidden to perform magic or meddle in the magic the Doranen do, unless they want to be beheaded. Unknown to anyone, though, there is a group of Olken who refer to themselves as The Circle, that for hundreds of years have protected the truth that Olken are also magic, and one of their own known as The Innocent Mage will one day fight an amazing battle in the final days.

The story’s protagonist, Asher, is a simple ruffian fisherman who leaves his home of Restharven to work for a year in the big city Dorana. He craved the simple life on a boat in the sea, but he didn’t realize that the prophecy that The Circle has guarded for centuries has other plans for him and his life. Through prophecy’s guidance, he meets and then becomes best friends with Prince Gar, the only known Doranen born without magic. Together they work and live, as prophecy comes to light. An evil enters Lur and the Innocent Mage is the only one that can stop it.

I loved these two books so much. I can be a bit emotional – it only takes a sad McDonald’s commercial to reduce me to tears (yes, that has happened before…) I can only think of two novels, though, that reduced me to a blubbering mess – Of Mice and Men, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Now I can add a third novel to that list – The Awakened Mage. These novels were a definitely a page-turner for me. Once I finished The Innocent Mage, I was very grateful that I had also checked out The Awakened Mage so I could just go right into it. Once I was finished with the whole thing I just sat there on my couch in tears – relieved, sad, and suddenly missing my new friends Asher and Gar and the rest. It was just “one of those books” for me.

I’ve read some reviews of them that while positive, do criticize some long sections with really little or no action to them. I can see this, but I can also look past that. There was still always something there on the pages that kept me turning until the middle of the night turned to early morning. When I got to the last 200 pages or so there was literally nothing I could do until I was done with them. They were the kind of books I kept with me at work to pick up during every break, kept in my purse to grab at any free moment I may possibly find in my day. Basically, I loved them!

It was funny, I was reading the end of The Awakened Mage when my husband was trying to get himself some dinner. I, of course, couldn’t think of eating – I had a book to finish! But then the tears came, and suddenly I was sobbing. My husband’s used to me, he knew it was going to happen. He peeked his head into the living room to ask if I’d seen the parmesan cheese. Sobbing, I blubbered that I didn’t know. He just shook his head and said, “I’m sorry, I know you’ve been through a lot.” I had a good giggle at that.

If you like fantasy you’ve got to give this one a read. I give both books two limes up….5 out of 5 limes…oh nevermind, just go read them! Let me know if you give it a go, and what you think.

21 Comments to “Limebird Book Club: Review of Kingmaker, Kingbreaker”

  1. Ooo, me me, I want to be part of the Limebird Book Club! 🙂 These sound really good, I hadn’t heard of them before today. I love fantasy, thanks for the heads up Laura! Looking forward to more reviews! B

  2. I have been thinking of buying these and after reading your review I might just get off my ass and do it! 🙂
    But if it’s going to make me cry, I better not read them on the train… I think the other passengers are getting a little scared of me, randomly laughing or crying at the books I read on my way to school!

    • I am just too emotional for my own good sometimes! I hope you enjoy them! I have the two books that take place after these, but I haven’t read them yet.

      • I have probably read the fifth Harry Potter book 5-6 times and I still cry at the end. I’m not normally an emotional person, but some books just hit all the right spots!

  3. I’m not a fantasy reader either but those reviews make the novels sound very interesting. I am a huge King fan though, and although he doesn’t influence my writing, I am very much of the opinion the more you can read, over different genres the much better writer you become. Well that’s my theory anyway!

    • And a great theory at that! I love Stephen King, ever since I was a little girl watching movies I probably shouldn’t have been!

  4. I’m not into fantasy either but you are so convincing these are a must read, I am forced to put them on my l-o-n-g reading list. It’s always awesome sharing book reviews. Thank you.

    • My to be read list is long too, sometimes I just wish I could super speed read just so I could read more things.

  5. Oh my, it sounds like you need a vacation from your vacation. But they sound like good reads. And I’m glad you have a supportive husband. :o)))) I wish I were a fan of fantasy, but it’s all I can do to finish a handful on my MUST read list. But now I can at least recommend some fantasy to friends who are into that genre. Thanks!

  6. I am a fantasy fan, or I used to be – I don’t read much sword-and-sorcery-type fantasy these days – but you make these sound attractive. Strangely, I hardly ever tear up at a book I’m reading, except my own! There are certain passages and chapters in my own books that, no matter how many times I read them, make tears start running down my face! I think that’s weird, really! But I can honestly say, I do love my own books! Now if I could just get other readers to weep over them!

    • I’d say there is a good chance they do as well! I’ve laughed at things I’ve written but never cried, that must be a great feeling to know you’ve written something so moving and emotional!

      • Oh, yes, I also laugh at my own jokes! They are mostly of the punning variety or word confusions! Like when my alien Big Bird Prf. A’a’ma is talking about the off-world mission’s Pilot and calls him a “big, burbly man” when he meant “burly.” The Professor speaks very good English, but like all non-native speakers he occasionally makes a mistake!

  7. I hope you’ve recovered now Laura! Lol

    I read a lot of fantasy as well and I find it interesting that you loved these books so much because I hated them! I loved the first page when I read it in the bookshop so I bought the both of them as reading for a long flight and while I finished the first one I couldn’t bring myself to even pick up the second.
    I’m glad that you enjoyed them so much though, I love you husband’s response to your reaction!

    • It was rough, but I’m much better thank you 😀

      Oh no I had to keep going! I did like the second a lot more than the first, a lot more action!

      I won’t hold it against you for not liking it, as long as you don’t hold it against me for liking them 🙂

  8. Good review Laura! I’m not much into fantasy reading myself, but I certainly wouldn’t rule it out, I’m pretty sure I could enjoy a book in any genre really, even if it’s not my preferred one! I’ll look forward to reading more of your reviews 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 I haven’t read a big bunch of fantasy, it’s odd I love fantasy movies but in books I’ve read Narnia, Harry Potter, and maybe a few more. I’ve got the two books that follow these, I think they’re set some time in the future after these events so I’m looking forward to reading them 😀

  9. LOL. I love when a book moves you so much that you feel like you were right there in the moment. You did go through an epic battle. How could you think about parmesan cheese at a time like that?

    • You are so right Kourtney! BTW I downloaded your book the other day, I can’t wait to get into it!

      • I love when a book pulls me in like that. The Time Traveler’s Wife destroyed me emotionally. But I loved it. Yay! Thank you so much! I hope you get pulled into Butternut. 🙂

Limebird Writers Love To Peck At Comments! :)

