Archive for October 17th, 2012

October 17, 2012

Keeping It In The Family

by limebirddennis

As it’s only two weeks until the start of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and today is NaNoPrep Day, I have been thinking about what my novel will be this year. I thought that I would share the process with you – and ask you all to share how you go about generating your ideas.

While tossing around various options for NaNoWriMo I was also idly looking at a spreadsheet that my sister has put together (a very small version of one branch is below). She is seriously into genealogy and has produced a very detailed family tree going back over two thousand years!

I was thinking about the various stories that such a spread of people, times, and places represented. Then I moved on to how these stories could be linked together in some way. In the comments of other Limebird posts I have talked about how I really get into research, and so it shouldn’t surprise you that I spent quite a few hours looking at the lives of some of the people on the family tree. What I wanted to find were events that happened during the 12th year, 13th year etc. of my ancestor’s lives to see if I could hang an overarching narrative on them all.

Then it all clicked!

read more »